Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, AlexBarnard

9 Fake Reasons - Days Of Downfall

9 Fake Reasons
Days Of Downfall
by Matt Coe at 28 July 2014, 9:16 PM

9 FAKE REASONS is an Alternative Metal act from France who started their journey together in 2011. They’ve released a 4 song EP and a few singles over the course of the past couple of years, performing many concerts in their country and also filming a few videos along the way. After signing their record deal in the fall of 2013, they went to work on their debut album “Days of Downfall”.

Musically the quartet go for a semi-commercial oriented style filled with power groove riffs that are very much American-ized. Occasionally 9 FAKE REASONS angle for the industrial RAMMSTEIN-like snap and pop, but for the most part I hear a lot of 90’s period METALLICA, the occasional roar and spunk of MACHINE HEAD, plus an element of LINKIN PARK or others in that current Alternative/ Modern Hard Rock mold.

Impressions are good when I take in the opening bass sequence from Jay Goncalves as he offers a few cool popping maneuvers on “I’m Not a Hero”, as well as the contrast in terms of quietness to aggression for the moody arrangement “Breathe”. As a lead guitarist I wouldn’t put Victor Lecoeur in the exemplary class of axe men, he seems to prefer setting a particular mood when given the chance to add his spotlight notes. Guitarist Charles Mulder has a sneering, almost nursery rhyme nature to his delivery on “Are You Ready”, something eerily familiar to those who have followed James Hetfield in the past. He does struggle a touch in terms of fluid English pronunciation – coming right out of the gate in the first verse of “Show Me Your Scars” – but adds some cool whispering melodies on the otherwise energetic/ double bass driven “Hate After Confusion”.

9 FAKE REASONS aren’t really offering much new to the Alternative Metal model, but they can write some decent material that has the right hooks and grooves to get most audiences alive and kicking.

3 Star Rating

1. Show Me Your Scars
2. Oblivion
3. I’m Not a Hero
4. Poison
5. Breathe
6. Are You Ready
7. Insane
8. Hate After Confusion
9. Through the Dark
10. Outcome
Charles Mulder – Vocals, Guitar
Victor Lecoeur – Lead Guitar
Jay Goncalves – Bass
Yann Brunel – Drums
Record Label: Dooweet Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green