Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

63 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

A Canorous Quintet - The Quintessence

A Canorous Quintet
The Quintessence
by Tuoksu Holopainen at 23 May 2013, 1:06 PM

This is a band I wish I had known earlier than now. A CANOROUS QUINTET, which  started out as A CANOROUS QUARTET and now is active as THIS ENDING after some lineup changes, is as proven with this release, a decent Melodic Death Metal band from Sweden although a bit underrated, seemingly. Thankfully I was chosen to review this massive re-release of their digitally-remastered discography consisting of two full-length albums and an EP plus some bonus material such as demos and live tracks.

This band's music is basically Swedish Melodic Death Metal in its finest forms. Although I do not consider myself a guru of the genre, there is nothing outstanding or original about what they do, per se. Nevertheless, the material is undeniably powerful and solid. You would definitely recognize the Swedish touch in the perfection of this style. Mårten Hansen's growling is top-notch, idem for the guitar sound and the overall mixing. I wouldn't compare with the original releases though,  since I haven't listened to them yet.

But yeah, if Swedish Melo-death is your cup of tea, this is a must-check-out release!

3 Star Rating

CD 1 - Silence Of The World Beyond (1996) :
1. Silence Of The World Beyond
2. Naked With Open Eyes
3. Spellbound
4. The Orchid’s Sleep
5. The Black Spiral
6. The Last Journey
7. In The Twilight Of Fear
8. Burning, Emotionless
9. Dream Reality
10. Silence Of The World Beyond (Live)
11. Reflections Of The Mirror (2012)
12. Dreamcloud(2012-unreleased)
13. Welcome To Your End (2012-unreleased)

CD 2 - The Only Pure Hate (1998)
1. Selfdeceiver (The Purest Of Hate)
2. Embryo Of Lies
3. Red
4. The Void
5. Everbleed
6. The Complete Emptiness
7. Retaliation
8. Realm Of Rain
9. The Storm
10 .Land Of The Lost
11. Land Of The Lost (Demo 1997)
12. Revert To Life (Demo 1997)
As Tears (1995)
13. Through Endless Illusions
14. The Joy Of Sorrow
15. When Happiness Dies
16. Strangeland
Fredrik Andersson - Drums
Mårten Hansen - Vocals
Linus Nirbrant - Guitars
Jesper Löfgren - Bass
Leo Pignon - Guitars
Record Label: Cyclone Empire


Item has a rating of 1
1 Vote(s)
You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green