Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

42 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

A Lie Nation – Sociopathology

A Lie Nation
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 20 August 2022, 7:09 AM

A LIE NATION is a Melodic Black Metal band based in Finland. Formed in 2010, they have released two EPs, and now present their debut full-length, which contains eight tracks. “Ihmisen Projektio” is the first. The sound is aggressive and dark, with a combination of Black Metal vocals and a more straightforward riff. However, the riffs are reminiscent of yesteryear and almost thrashy. “Underton” features some harmonized guitars, and a groovy riff, with meaty bass notes. I like the change of pacing…it sounds like a Black Metal MOTORHEAD.

“Scum” is a bit faster, and the riffs are starting to get more interesting. It slows to chunky bass notes and some narration, and then picks back up again. “While Our Wounds Gently Bleed” has a more straightforward sound. If you back the vocals out, you would swear that you were not listening to Black Metal. The lead guitar work is nice as well. “21st” is a slower groove where the bass takes part of the lead in the sound. Bass is one instrument that often gets lost in Black Metal, so I am glad it is more prominent. “Nothing Has a Meaning” is a short, three-minute song with clean rhythms and doleful leads. Talk about depressing…the song title matches the sound very well.

“God of This Age” features some dissonant guitar work and background effects before the main riff comes in with a little haste. This album is starting to grow on me. I like the clean guitar work especially. “Conclusion of a Thought” closes the album. As the title suggests, it’s a more thoughtful and introspective sound, at first anyway. Bouts of anger roar up and are then replaced by moments of despair. This album was decent, but in the end, it failed to excite me. There were some nice moments along the way, with occasional intricacies. But they weren’t enough to combat the fairly dull sound all around.

Songwriting: 5
Musicianship: 6
Memorability: 3
Production: 7

2 Star Rating

1. Ihmisen Projektio
2. Underton
3. Scum
4. While Our Wounds Gently Bleed
5. 21st
6. Nothing Has a Meaning
7. God of This Age
8. Conclusion of a Thought
Joonas Kokkoniemi – Bass
Markus Leinonen – Drums
Jussi Tuomisto – Guitars
Joni Moisanen – Guitars
Miikka Pyykkönen – Vocals
Record Label: Inverse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green