Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 29 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Abominant - Onward To Annihilation Award winner

Onward To Annihilation
by Lex Mishukhin at 05 September 2013, 10:29 AM

“We Are Coming”, a very appropriate title I might add. ABOMINANT's latest effort starts off by freaking you out after which it hits like a freight train speeding fast. I think that it says it all, doesn't it?…. Well not really, there's far more to the Death Metal beasts’ new album than hitting you as if it was really that awful freight train.

The band itself proclaimed on their Facebook page "started in 1993, never stopped" and this album certainly never stops, it's relentless. The opening title track commences with some very creepy unintelligible growls, an old Death Metal trick, but a good one indeed, of course right after the track smashes you over the head with superb speed and heaviness.

To call this album "old school" would be an understatement; "Conquerors Of Dust" for example captures the spirit of classic American made Death Metal that got me into the genre in the first place. "Left To Rot" is an HYPOCRISY cover that remains true to what it was meant to be in the first place. Quite a guitar noise welcomes you to "Battlescarred", a track that will likely send you off with battle frenzy, straight into the belly of a mosh pit near you. "Hold Your Grownd" is the shortest and most unusual song on the record surprising us with Mike Barnes' clean and high, almost falsetto vocals, a reminiscent of King Diamond.

“Onward To Annihilation” is a classic Death Metal album for 2013, certainly recommended for anyone looking to release some energy with a furious headbang. Simply put, an excellent record!

4 Star Rating

1. We Are Coming
2. Conquerors of Dust
3. Left to Rot (Hypocrisy cover)
4. BattleScarred
5. Onward to Annihilation
6. Hold Your Ground
7. Beside the Dying Flame
8. Legions of Hell
Jim Higgins - Drums
Mike May - Bass
Timmie Ball - Guitars
Mike Barnes - Vocals
Record Label: Deathgasm Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green