Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Adastra - Deadlock

by YngwieViking at 01 June 2015, 11:06 AM

Hailing from Helsinki in Finland, the other land of Heavy Metal, ADASTRA is publishing its fourth full length album entitled “Deadlock” by themselves, now rejuvenated and powered by some intense underground club touring, a new found energy, a force taken from their time spend on the Nordic roads, and reinforced by the return of one of the founding member/guitarist Teemu Kurki, this new recording is the best proof of their new & fresh dynamism, while still playing their special brand of Old School Scandinavian Heavy Metal with a Thrash Edge in some riffage with some good high pitched vocals !

Founded by Olli Anttila and Teemu Kurki in 2001, the sound of the band is focused on structured melodies in the great tradition of the NWOBHM style , ADASTRA had released three albums through Violent Journey Records; the debut “The Last Sunset” (2007), “Death or Domination” (2008) and “Corroder of Minds” (2012).

I should admit that my early attraction to “Deadlock” and my will to review the fourth album of ADASTRA was motivated by the fact that they recorded a MERCYFUL FATE cover, namely the legendary “Nuns Have No Fun”, being a KING DIAMOND/MERCYFUL FATE die-hard fan, “Corroder of Minds” was more than OK,so it was for me like a sign, a symbolism that I had to write this full analysis…Indeed, I received some audio fun

Of course, with such description you can’t expect nothing extraordinary or not tagged in some stereotypes, indeed “Deadlock” displays his best Orthodox view of Heavy Metal with no trace of originality and with a strong/Blind confidence in the dogmatic ancient precepts of Alchemy!

The honesty and the straight Pure Metal approach is undeniable, obviously ADASTRA and its “Deadlock” will not change the sound of HM and its destiny but even if it’s not essential it could be a good slice of Finnish Steel for the legions of voracious Headbangers!

3 Star Rating

1. Only Live at Night
2. The Day I Die
3. Bring Me Back on Track
4. Forever Yours
5. Amnesia
6. I'll Be There for You
7. As I Close my Eyes
8. Forgotten Heroes
9. Reality-TV Whore
10. Remember His Name
11. Freeman
12. Nuns Have No Fun
Ville Siikamäki – Lead Vocals
Olli Anttila - Guitars
Santeri Vauramo - Bass
Teemu Kurki – Guitars
Jussi Ruokolainen – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green