Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

74 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Aempyrean - Fireborn

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 12 December 2018, 11:08 AM

AEMPYREAN are releasing their debut EP here though Cyclopean Eye Productions. Formed in 2015 in India, from their Bandcamp page, “AEMPYREAN is not here to fuck around. They are here to rip you with all the force of a chainsaw tearing through bone.” The EP contains five tracks, and a total running length of about 23 minutes.

“On the Warpath” leads us off. The production is Old School, with a dirty riff and an opening scream that would keep your mother in her room for days. The riffs change up with some blast beat drumming and a steady groove. The vocals are guttural utterances that threaten to wake the dead. The lead guitar sequence is eerie, as the notes echo and reverberate. The title track, “Fireborn” goes into assault mode from the start, with a speedy descending riff and angry vocal shouts. The pace stays quickened as the vocals take over most of the track. “Chapel of Ghosts” is a MORBD ANGEL cover, and the boys do a pretty good of covering the madness here. The filth is everywhere, and you have to dust it off yourself when the song is over. The guitars do a nice job climbing throughout the track.

“The Devourer” is a one-minute instrumental, mostly setting a mood with odd and eerie sounds. Something is out there, and is it coming for you. You can feel the hairs stand up on the back of your neck as it starts to take shape. “Undying Scourge” closes the album, with a slow and punishing opening that leads to absolute chaos. The vocals are done almost in Punk style, small verses shouted quickly, like some early SUICIDAL TENDENCIES. Of course, they are low and guttural. Overall, I hear more Death Metal than Black Metal, but the vocals help in this regard. The instrumentation is right and executed near-flawlessly. It’s a promising and harrowing EP from these new men out of India, and their future looks to be bright.

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. On the Warpath
2. Fireborn
3. Chapel of Ghouls
4. The Devourer
5 Undying Scourge
Alay N. – Bass
Avi S. – Drums
Clinton S. – Guitars
Sailesh k. – Guitars
B.M. – Vocals 
Record Label: Cyclopean Eye


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green