Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Aepoch - The Scryer

The Scryer
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 10 July 2020, 9:19 AM

Hailing from Ontario, Canada, and plagued with line-up changes over the years, AEPOCH’s name was derived from the word Epoch which means: In the fields of chronology and periodization, an epoch is an instant in time chosen as the origin of a particular era. The "epoch" then serves as a reference point from which time is measured. Time measurement units are counted from the epoch so that the date and time of events can be specified unambiguously. “The Scryer” is the band’s third full-length, and contains six tracks.

“Devil Twin Pt. 1: The Birth of a Demon” is a short, mood-settling instrumental track. Clean guitars set a despondent tone, but leave a little hope as well. “Devil Twin Pt. 2: The Death of a Man” is a short burst of anger, with heavy instrumentation and harsh vocals in your face. It’s a combination of Death Metal, Progressive Metal, with some Thrash thrown in as well. The title track is closer to five minutes in length. A guitar solo leads the charge here. The music is unrelenting in terms of its grip on your throat. A glittering guitar solo complete with a dive bomb at the end occupies the latter half of the song.

“Shrapnel Baptized” is the longest on the album, clocking in at over eight minutes in length. The bass guitar can be clearly heard dancing in the first part of the song. From there, it’s just angry, raging music and vocals. It slow just a bit around the half way mark, but picks back up pretty quickly thereafter. The steady gallop of the kick drum is also noteworthy in carrying the track forward. “Ozonilhilation” is a six-minute burner. Some Progressive elements come to the table here in the form of the shifting meter. It attacks you, from all angles, never letting up.

“A Brainwashed Civilization” is another burner that comes straight for your throat. The guitars are fanciful here and it is clear that the band is talented. But, one criticism is a lack of diversity. On a six-song album, you want to hear a little variation, and there is not much here. The Death, Thrash, and Progressive elements come through strong, and it’s intense…as any Extreme Metal should be. It’s good, but could be better with a little more variation.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Devil Twin Pt. 1: The Birth of a Demon
2. Devil Twin Pt. 2: The Death of a Man
3. The Scryer
4. Shrapnel Baptized
5. Ozonihilation
6. A Brainwashed Civilization
Brett MacIntosh – Bass, Vocals
Greg Carvalho – Drums
Marcus Arar – Guitar
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green