Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, AlexBarnard

Aetherial - The Still Waters of Oblivion

The Still Waters of Oblivion
by Tina Webber at 15 January 2018, 5:18 AM

Coming from the land down under springs the melodic-death metal band, AETHERIAL from Melbourne. The band released their debut album, “The Still Waters Of Oblivion” on November 10th, 2017. It features twelve tracks and lasting around forty-seven minutes long. The cover art of “The Still Waters Of Oblivion” is morose but it completely contradicts the high driving riffs and melodies that AETHERIAL offers.  I sense GOJIRA, even some Djent influence within the songs. Either way, it keeps me interested! I think my favorite track on this album was “The Unavoidable Conclusion.” It has the SOILWORK composition with more prominent bass lines. And I find my head continuously banging to it. It is familiar yet different. They have made a sound of their own.

I didn’t really like “The Still Waters Of Oblivion” at first, honestly. It took me listening to the album a couple of times for it to grow on me. So, I highly suggest listening to it a few times for it to really sink in.  The album starts off with the track, “The Penitent Man.” It is atmospheric at first, and then it hits you with a brutally screamed verse as the introduction which transitions to slamming drums and guitars. “The Fallen Will Mark Their Way” is a great track, with perfected, high driven riffs with abrupt pauses and shift in tempo. Well done with this one!

“Three Poisons” has the GOJIRA feels! Which I love. This is an insanely heavy track with so many punches and twists and turns. The high and low vocals are well executed. So incredibly good.  Make more songs like this, please. This is another favorite track of mine on this album. Overall, as I have said before, give it a listen a couple of times before making a decision how you feel about this album. It took me a few times for it to sink it and it grew on me and the more I like it.  I look forward to hearing more what AETHERIAL has to offer.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. The Penitent Man
2. Obscurus
3. The Fallen Will Mark The Way
4. The Insignificance Of Us
5. Back To The Earth
6. One Of The Departed
7. Down Amongst Dead Men
8. Perpetual Night
9. We Who Know The Tempest
10. Spirit Against The Flesh
11. Three Poisons
12. The Unavoidable Conclusion
Shep Sheppard: Vocals
Joshua Hernandez: Guitar
Cassandra George: Bass
Aaron Hernyak: Touring Drummer
Marty Fielder: Touring Drummer
Record Label: Truth Inc. Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 20 January 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green