Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Aetherian - The Untamed Wilderness Award winner

The Untamed Wilderness
by Tina Webber at 15 October 2017, 2:09 PM

From the ancient shores of Greece, arises AETHERIAN—formed in 2013. AETHERIAN is an upcoming Melodic Death Metal band showing Metal fans what they have to offer against their Scandinavian competitors. Their upcoming album, “The Untamed Wilderness”, is set to release on November 24th 2017. The band put a bass brooding, single track called, “The Rain”, on YouTube in 2016, which received amazing feedback and produced a lot of views, currently totaling 1.4 million. Obviously, people like what they are hearing–as do I. The solos crafted in “The Rain” give me so much vitality! The lyrics are filled with imagery and I appreciate the metaphors surrounding nature that the band uses, such as; “Embrace the storm inside.” It sends a powerful message and gives the music a deeper and more fulfilling meaning. This is my first time hearing AETHERIAN and I am thoroughly impressed and looking forward to hearing more from this amazing band!

The album opens with “Wish of Autumn Twilight” and the track gradually progresses into faster tempos, catchy rhythms, and brutal drumming. The music is contrasting. At first it is melancholic and ethereal, and then it shifts to proud, light, upbeat rhythms with superb guitar work. This aura of the music is prevalent in the rest of the album, which perfectly coincides with the band name, AETHERIAN.  Fans of INSOMNIUM, BE'LAKOR, and OMINUM GATHERUM should appreciate AETHERIAN’S music. “Seeds of Deception” sets the bar on this album. It is highly acclaimed and stands to reason. Make sure you raise the volume on this one. It is truly a masterpiece with stunning melodies, majestic drumming, and vocals that bring it all together. Everything flows seamlessly. This song is absolute perfection. Well done.

The next track, “Shade of the Sun”, is highly enjoyable as well. It is a strong track featuring nothing but pure heroic melodies and brutal punches that leave my head banging. Top-notch Melodic Death Metal is shining through the shade. “The Untamed Wilderness” closes with “The Path”, which starts off gloomy with throbbing drums and guitar and then immediately transitions to an empowering, fast melody while slowly fading out. The closing track just makes you want to listen to the album all over again!

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Wish of Autumn Twilight
2. Dark Earth
3. As The Veil Fades
4. Black Sails
5. Seeds of Deception
6. Shade of The Sun
7. Clouds Gathering
8. The Rain
9. The Path
Panos Leakos - Vocals, Bass
Angelos Maniatakos - Guitars
Nikos Parotidis - Drums
Giorgos Evgeniadis - Guitars
Record Label: Lifeforce Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 05 October 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green