Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Affasia - Adrift In Remorse

Adrift In Remorse
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 27 February 2018, 11:19 AM

Richmond, VA Dark/Atmospheric Metal group AFFASIA presents their debut EP, “Adrift in Remorse” on Transcending Records. In addition to playing drums on the album, Tony Petrocelly of In Trapan Studios recorded, mixed and mastered the EP. AFFASIA was created as a collaboration between founders Jason Jennings and David Waltenbaugh in 2012. In 2013 the duo started searching for other members to complete the lineup. Noah Cabitto joined and assisted with writing, lyrics and naming the project. Joshua Sheffield joined shortly along with Nick Lucente. David and Nick resigned as active members in late 2014, although their contributions in writing the material had a big impact.  In early 2015 Noah Jones and Michael Potts were live members. In early summer of 2015 William Carter joined as bassist and Jaden Deesvanburick joined re-solidifying the lineup. William and Jaden parted with AFFASIA in late 2016. Nick Lucente rejoined in early 2017.

“Adrift In Remorse” contains four tracks. “Another Host” leads off the album. It’s a slow, lumbering track that pushes a doomy, atmospheric sound, with both clean and harsh vocals. Haunting piano melodies combine with a variety of guitar techniques, and the level despondence is quite high. Did the skies outside just darken a few shades? “Dissolute” opens with a soft piano melody that leads to a heavy guitar riff and clean vocals that are emotional and introspective. They seem to rise above the weighted bottom end like whispers in the wind, while the harsh vocals crush them back down. Noah croons, “we are little flames poorly sheltered by frail walls against the storm of dissolution.” When you talk about desolation and utter despair, it doesn’t get much deeper than this track.

“Brittle Sentiment” has a mesmerizing guitar riff that repeats with dissonance. On the softer side, the melancholic tones produce an easy listening sound that you might encounter from a band like THE CURE, sans the Death vocals of course. It flows softly ahead like the trickle of a stream. Following a guitar solo, the darkness returns. “As You Never Were” is a seven-minute closing song. The lethargic pace really allows the gloomy sound to be maximized. I get somewhat of a SWALLOW THE SUN vibe here from the melodies, especially when you add in the Death vocals and piano. Is this song I can really hear the band reaching fill potential on the EP, as they have crafted a wonderfully depressing affair.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the EP. I see now why they label their style as “dark, ambient Metal,” because there are elements of Doom, Melo-Death, Doom/Death and others so that you really cannot pigeon-hole the EP into a specific genre. The EP is great at really driving home a deep feeling of despair and loss of hope that can really be quite striking.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Another Host
2. Dissolute
3. Brittle Sentiment
4. As You Never Were
Noah Cabitto - Vocals
Jason Jennings - Guitars
Nick Lucente - Bass
Adam Coffman - Keys
Tony Petrocelly - Drums & Recording Engineer
Record Label: Transcending Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green