Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Age of Taurus - The Colony Slain

Age of Taurus
The Colony Slain
by Eric Poulin at 29 June 2018, 4:40 AM

AGE OF TAURUS is a Doom Metal band based out of London, England, formed in 2009. This is their 2nd full-length record entitled, “The Colony Slain”, released through Rise Above Records on May 18th, 2018. “Taken to the Tower”, has bit of BLACK SABBATH in its rhythmic patterns but also a dash of MEGADETH with British-style vocals of Toby W. Wright, who sounds a bit like Robert Lowe, except a little higher in pitch. The guitar melodies are highly akin to IRON MAIDEN and add great depth to the song. Some other great ones here, such as “The Trial of Blackwynn Chaise”, has a great rock riff, strong opening harmonies, and a definite southern metal style that does remind me a bit of HIGH ON FIRE.

“In Dreams We Die
” has great-sounding drums that just pound through your eardrums and has one of the strongest and more powerful rhythm sections on the album. “For Treason We Rise” has a tinge of MASTODON in it, with great groove and headbanging parts and “To Seal a Mountain” is a great throwback to the heyday of the almighty DIAMOND HEAD and the influential NWOBHM scene. “As Ice into Blood” has some of the best bass lines and some great acoustic parts that bring me back to the early days of IN FLAMES. Overall, there is a lot to appreciate on the album as every track brings a little something different, yet follows a similar pattern. Everything from the production, the choruses and the guitar hooks should appeal to any of Doom/Stoner Metal.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. From the Hills to the Halls
2. Taken to the Tower
3. The Trial of Blackwynn Chaise
4. In Dreams We Die
5. The Lost Garrison
6. Beyond the Westward Path
7. For Treason We Rise
8. The Walls Have Ears
9. To Seal a Mountain
10. As Ice into Blood
11. The Colony Slain            
Leo Smee - Bass
Toby W. Wright - Vocals, Guitars
Darius Claydon - Drums
Daniel Knight - Guitars
Record Label: Rise Above Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 27 November 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green