Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

48 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Agony Atlas – Retrogression Pt. 1: Egomania

Agony Atlas
Retrogression Pt. 1: Egomania
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 02 September 2020, 12:34 PM

From their EPK, “We’re in the year 2095. Planet earth is on its rushing way down into the abyss. The United Nations put together a group of leading international scientists to prevent that decay. For the scientists, a journey back in time is the only possibility left. A journey back into the year 2020, back to the turning point of mankind’s history. The name of this newly established organization: Agony Atlas. Therefore, they put a team together to shake up the society of that decade. With images of all that is to come, unless widespread action is taken: Wars, catastrophes, hunger and distress – ultimately linked to the downfall of earth and thereby also the whole of mankind.” Their debut album contains three tracks.

“Economy Class” leads off the album. It opens with thick and heavy guitar, bass, and drums, then joined by vocals. The vocals are harsh, but not in the sense of thickness. The instruments are a steady staccato attack, together with some well-done keyboards to round out the sound. “Egomania” opens with bass guitar notes, then the main riff comes in, hard and heavy. I really like the use of keyboards here. They augment the sound, rather than dominating it. But it brings the music to another level for sure. Progressive/Djent elements abound as well, and the song has a lot of energy.

“Hymn of Hatred” closes the EP. It opens with eerie electronica and then the heavy riff drops out of the air like an asteroid, obliterating everything you can see. From there, it moves forward with a groove, but is over before you know it. This genre has become fairly popular as of late, and these guys are right in the game here. Though it’s tough to evaluate an album based on only three tracks, their inventive use of keyboards and samples keeps the music fresh and modern. I am very much looking forward to a full-length from them, because this is a promising start.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Economy Class
2. Egomania
3. Hymn of Hatred
Liane Walter – Vocals
Christoph Fuchs – Guitars, Keyboards, Programming
Andreas Nieratschker – Guitars
Markus Moewis – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green