Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook




Not logged in

Users online

5claudiae9723to4, graphurmeper42, 55 guests

Welcome to our newest member, graphurmeper42

Aitherios – MMXIX

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 03 May 2019, 7:15 AM

Formed in late 2018, AITHERIOS is a hybrid genre metal band from Northern California. Born from a desire to break the mold of modern metal, the band brings a fresh sound comprised of melodic leads, neoclassical technicality, and progressive elements. Constantly innovating and experimenting, AITHERIOS is poised to conquer the metal world with a sound unlike any other! “MMXIX” is the band’s debut EP, and contains three tracks.

“Awaiting Omnipotence” leads off the EP. It opens with a fast and furious flurry of guitars, bass and drums, with vocals that sound like Deathcore to me…sometimes high screams and other times lower guttural utterances. His range is impressive. The Progressive elements begin to take center stage, especially the way the instruments stay in sync while manipulating time like masters. “Enshrined in Embers” opens with somber bass notes and building some ambiance in the background. When the main riff hits, it buries you with weight and aggression. The vocals are oppressive, and the meter shifts to and fro. A skillful lead guitar solo follows the melody line very closely. It ends up exactly where it started, with those ambient bass tones.

“A Legacy of Desolation” opens with soft bass tones, leading to a heavy assault complete with a big scream. An ambient interlude rears its head about half way through, with spoken words that are a bit hard to make out. The rage returns with alternating screams and low guttural vocals. The really mix it up with diverse riffing so you never really know where it’s heading. Overall, this was indeed very hard to pigeonhole. I can hear some neoclassical elements for sure, especially in the last track. They are very talented musicians and have a bright future ahead of them. The EP has only three tracks, but the way they mix things up while holding down a tight technical pattern is impressive.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Awaiting Omnipotence
2. Enshrined in Embers
3. A Legacy of Desolation
Chandler Tinder – Vocals
Joseph Goode – Rhythm Guitar
Jacob Davis – Lead Guitar
Tristan Mcgregor – Drums
Brandon Parker – Bass
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green