Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Al Navarro – It’s Your Fault

Al Navarro
It’s Your Fault
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 05 August 2020, 4:46 PM

After a long time in the world of Rock, AL NAVARRO makes the leap to the international scene with this work, showing everything he can offer as a composer and a guitarist. “It’s Your Fault” contains eight tracks, and three separate lead singers, while Al provides backing vocals.

“Against the World” leads us off. It’s over seven minutes in length. Opening with easy clean guitars and some background ambiance, the heavy riffs drop here and there. The vocals start low but go high and raspy…I’m unsure I would call this Progressive Metal…it’s more Classic Metal for me, and I don’t care for the vocalist here. “The Way you are” is a bit shorter. It opens with a heavy guitar riff and a mid-tempo groove. I like the bass notes here and am picking up on more of the Progressive elements. I like the energy here but the riffs have been heard before.

“A Real Life” has some moments but the singer kills it for me. Al is really not taking many chances here, coming at you straightforward for the most part. The harmonized guitar passage is nice. “Break me now” is just over seven minutes in length. It opens with tender piano notes and strings. I like Jenny G.’s vocals here…they are quite charming. There isn’t a whole lot else going on in the song; it has minimal instrumentation and it’s thin overall. “Wake up” is another song close to seven minutes long. The opening riff is dark and it moves pretty quickly. Again, it’s too straightforward to call Progressive Metal in my opinion, and the vocals are a bit pitchy.

“A Lie Died” is just under eight minutes long. It opens with spacey keys and bass guitar. From there, a mid-tempo riff develops and it’s a bit on the heavier side of the genre. The mid-tempo pacing really drags this song down. “Grave of Faith” opens with some darker tones and the album is beginning to fall into the “mid-tempo blues,” where many/all of the songs feature the same pacing. What it does is it makes them blend together too much. The male vocalist here is again off-putting for me. “It’s your Fault” closes the album, with a bit more energy from the piano notes and opening guitar sequence. The melodies are also a bit more free-flowing here as well.

Overall, I hate to say it, but Al’s debut solo album here just missed the mark. He played it too safe for me, and there wasn’t enough supporting instrumentation to keep it interesting. The mid-tempo pace of most of the songs really weighed down the album, and it was doomed from the start. I am sure he is a fine guitarist and composer, but the album was just mediocre for me, as was his choice of singers.

Songwriting: 3
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 3
Production: 7


2 Star Rating

1. Against the World
2. The Way you are
3. A Real Life
4. Break me now
5. Wake up
6. A Lie Died
7. Grave of Faith
8. It’s your Fault
Al Navarro – Guitars, Keyboards, Bass, Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals
Hector Llaurado – Vocals
Jenny G. – Vocals
Scott Foster Harris – Vocals
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green