Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Alan Kelly's Seven Hard Years (7HY) - No Place in Heaven

Alan Kelly's Seven Hard Years (7HY)
No Place in Heaven
by YngwieViking at 03 August 2014, 3:03 PM

The Older Hard Rock fanatics among the readers are all aware of what means SEVEN HARD YEARS (or 7HY) and what is all about, for the newcomers and youngest readers let’s say that multi-instrumentalist/Producer Alan Kelly played drums for British AOR legend SHY for almost fifteen years sharing some rhythmic duties with Bassist Roy Davis on album such as “Welcome To The Madhouse” or iconic “Excess All Areas”, so you clearly understand by now that it’s a SHY's spin-off , something as a pseudo palliative for the starving faithful fans, as since the tragic passing of band leader Steve Harris who died sadly in 2011, obviously SHY doesn’t exist anymore !
(Their swansong self titled album published in 2011 is a true pearl, ultra-recommended)
Even if musically the analogy isn’t complete, the nostalgic supporters of the 80’s sound, should be pleased by this “No Place in Heaven” as it kept the same Melodic tradition in order to reach the old school Stadium goal, the question is : Do they have succeed?

The good thing is that the pair had recruited the American citizen and vocalist Shawn Pelata (exLINE OF FIRE / exK-OCTAVE) to front this new gang, and i have to say that it’s a decisive choice, as Pelata had deliver a vocally intense prestation full of authority, yet some talented players were also added to complete the line-up like Dave Martin (former Guitarist for MARSHALL LAW) on lead axe, Martin Walls (exAFTER HOURS) or Elliot Kelly (OCEAN CITY) on rythm guitar who performs a solo spot on the best cut “You Lie”!

Of course, Alan Kelly’s 7HY play a classy kind of Melodic Hard Rock full of catchy riffage and powerful anthemic hooks (“You Lie” or “Angels Fly”) with also some high level elegancy (“Live Without You”) and a few emotive songs plus some mandatory ballads in the key of AOR, but beside the unmistakable faultless input by Shawn Pelata there’s nothing outstanding or jawdropping, the pace is relatively soft with simple structure and ,non adventurous arrangment and maybe a few too much mid tempo!

A pleasant, well crafted, produced but quite regular album, written and built in a timeless method but,  a real creative edge is missing to fulfill the former objective!

3 Star Rating

1. Angels Fly
2. Hold Me Now
3. Live Without You
4. You Lie
5. Call Me Tonight
6. Never Meant To Hurt You
7. No More Yesterdays
8. No Place In Heaven
9. Say What You Gotta Say
10. Say Those Lies
11. Show Some Emotion
12. You Are The One
Alan Kelly – Guitars/Bass/Keyboards/Drums/Backing Vocals
Shawn Pelata – Lead Vocals
Roy Davis – Bass
Claire Kelly – Bass
Martin Walls – Bass
Dave Martin – Lead Guitar
Elliot Sora Kelly – Lead Guitar
Record Label: The Lynchburg Music Group


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 25 September 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green