Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

36 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Allegaeon - Proponent For Sentience Award winner

Proponent For Sentience
by Craig “Thrashing” Rider at 13 October 2016, 4:50 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! The Thrasher returns to present to you: ALLEGAEON; signed via Metal Blade Records, hailing from the United States of America – performing Technical Melodic Death Metal, on their 4th album entitled: “Proponent For Sentience”.

With 3 records behind them since formation in 2008 – “Fragments Of Form And Function” (released in 2010), “Formshifter” (released in 2012) and “Elements Of The Infinite” (released in 2014); ALLEGAEON return in stunning fashion with this here album entitled: “Proponent For Sentience” (released on September 23rd, 2016). The quintet in question utilizes an impressive set of Technical Death Metal; while making the instrumentation extremely melodic, and sounds unprecedented to my ears at least! As a Death Metal fanatic; I relished this opportunity to finally discover a quartet that even the brilliant Max Cavalera holds dear. Naturally; I never had the chance to check them out beforehand, yet I am blessed upon the Temple to do so! Death Metal for sure is an acquired taste, and the Technical side of Death Metal is almost like Prog for me; however, this is an album that feels extremely unique in every sense of the word; while being rhythmic.

The superb songwriting and sound production consists of the new vocalist: Riley McShane, and certainly makes for a much-welcomed debut in his attempts as a Death Metal growler. The two guitarists: Greg Burgess & Michael Stancel both excel with a flair at riffing classical melodies that create a fascinating sense of harmonic atmosphere; as well as furiously exciting solos that ascend into brilliance. Let's not forget about the powerhouse that are Corey Archuleta on bass & Brandon Park on drums adds more pummeling excitement where talent credentials are very much due. “Proponent For Sentience” is a complex yet cunning album that efficiently provides elegant boundaries of exquisite proficiency. 12 songs ranging at around 1:12:05 exactly; provides prominent diversity that if this would be your first ALLEGAEON experience as it is mine, the sub-genre in question may well make them the kings of Tech-Death.

Proponent For Sentience” is tied together by the three movements of the titular track found throughout: “The Conception”, “The Algorithm”, & “The Extermination”…marking the fact that this is ALLEGAEON's first attempt at a concept album, essentially speaking, a rapid progress of scientific advancements of the modern age and the flaws of humanity. “All Hail Science”, “From Nothing” & “Gray Matter Mechanics - Appasionata Ex Machinea” explore more in-depth progression with vicious Death Metal one could ask for. While the latter has a killer guest solo from BLOODSHOT DAWN's Benjamin Ellis as well as SOILWORK's Bjorn “SpeedStrid…also marking the first time the band enlists guests musicians, and they both suit the song perfectly. “Of Mind And Matrix”, “Demons Of An Intricate” & “Terrathaw And The Quake” excel at diverse instrumentation and musicianship I have heard in a long time in Death Metal; which is a breath of fresh air for a Death Metal purist like yours truly.

Cognitive Computations” adds an entirely new element of clean vocals; as well as with the superb cover of RUSH's “Subdivisions” which is an immensely hard-hitting hail to the band, “The Arbiters” in-between the clean tracks makes “Proponent For Sentience” one of the most adequately produced records of 2016 - hands down. This well-crafted machine is essential to any Metal fan; looking to find that unprecedented experience.

Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 10
Originality: 10
Sound Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Proponent For Sentience I - The Conception
2. All Hail Science
3. From Nothing
4. Gray Matter Mechanics - Apassionata Ex Machinea
5. Of Mind And Matrix
6. Proponent For Sentience II – The Algorithm
7. Demons Of An Intricate Design
8. Terrathaw And The Quake
9. Cognitive Computations
10. The Arbiters
11. Proponent For Sentience III - The Extermination
12. The Subdivisions
Riley McShane - Vocals
Greg Burgess - Guitar
Michael Stancel - Guitar
Corey Archuleta - Bass
Brandon Park - Drums
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 26 November 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green