Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Alleyway - After Dark

After Dark
by Neil Cook at 09 December 2020, 4:26 PM

ALLEYWAY are a punky, hard rocking power trio from Oshkosh, Wisconsin, since getting together in 2012 After Dark is their 4th full length album.  That’s more than most established bands can manage in 20-30 years. What you get is a collection of hard extremely fast Punk and Roll songs in the vein of early MOTORHEAD at their angriest mixed with the Punk attitude of the likes of the MISFITS or UK Punk bands like THE EXPLOITED or GBH.

To try to analyze every song is a wasted exercise, this is Rock and Roll pure, and simple.

Songs about hard living, drinking and all that.  Check!
Drumming like sledge hammers pounding at a breakneck pace.  Yep!
Furious basslines underpinning the beat. Oh yes!
Riffiage and mean dirty solos. God! YES!
Angry , dirty, gruff, mean vocals.  Fuck yes.

Long intricate keyboard solos.  Um no fuckin way!!!

Some shining examples for me are “Live Wild Now”, title track “After Dark” and “Snake Eyes”, prime examples of their trade as epitomized by the points above. There isn’t a ballad, or folky jig, or much of any difference here, just hard, heavy rock and roll. So you have to like it fast and direct. However the clear standout track for me is “Sousson-Pannan”. It stands out because of the vocals lead in (sorry don’t have a clue what language that is), but it grabs you by the balls and squeezes tight for nearly three minutes.  It just has the X-factor to make it stand out from the pack.

Ten short, sharp hard and heavy songs to psyche you up.  I can see these guys going down so well in a dirty, sweaty, stinky biker bar.  The crowd going mad, moshing, throwing everything around to the beat. Don’t join in if you’re not prepared to get hurt!

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Next Passenger-X
2. Live Wild Now
3. All The Screams
4. Soussin-Pannan
5. After Dark
6. Snake Eyes
7. Sorrento Nites
8. Her Own World
9. The Closer I Get
10. Genesis In Rapture
Nick Moyle – Guitar/Vocals
Andy Beam – Bass
Dave Patterson – Drums
Record Label: SlipTrick Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 29 November 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green