Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Aloop - Dead End New Deal

Dead End New Deal
by Karila "Femme Metale" Shannis at 27 August 2012, 2:56 PM

Today’s modern Metal world falls under the pressure of trying to be original without falling into this generation’s crappy core obsession. For me, ALOOP’s sophomore album “Dead End New Deal” places itself in this unfortunate limbo. I really want to like it, and there are some electrifying elements that pop out from time to time that pushed me through the entire album. Until the “Hell On Earth” tracks present themselves however, this album’s modern metal tone just becomes too monotonous to enjoy more than once.

The album starts strong with a bold modern technical tone reminiscent of fearsome acts such as DEVILDRIVER and FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH.  “Point of No Return” and “Plot To Kill” provide that ruthless force with chugging, distorted riffs and raging vocals. Then you’ve got songs like “Automation” which laces breakdowns with melodic vocals that remind me of Tyler Smith of THE WORD ALIVE. Suddenly, the songs start to blend one into another and increasingly sound more predictable: one verse of screaming Metalcore vocals with deep-set riffs transitioning in to high-pitched melodies with more ambient guitars. Even the unique retro blues opening of “Django” didn’t redeem the song of the aforementioned repetitive qualities.

I wouldn’t recommend this album unless you know you are into that Metalcore / modern Metal scene.  However, the tracks I will absolutely recommend to everyone just because they are so kickass are the final two tracks, the “Hell on Earth 2”parts 1 and 2. These songs belong in the next epic trilogy movie; there is an astounding beauty in both of these tracks that make them worth listening to on their own. Acoustic melodies give way to swelling orchestras which implement Bo Larsen’s singing with gentle electric guitar riffs, diminishing to an echoic grand piano solo that left me shuddering at the end! Why and how these solid and creative songs ended up tacked onto the end of a seemingly average album is beyond me.

3 Star Rating

1. Deception
2. Automation
3. Point of No Return
4. Plot to Kill
5. Chemical Kiss
6. Django
7. Sudden Death
8. Masquerade
9. Falling
10. Brave New World
11. Hell on Earth 2 pt. 1
12. Hell on Earth 2 pt. 2
Bo Larsen- Vocals
Henrik Mortensen- Guitars
Rene Beck- Guitars
Thais Beermann- Drums
Thomas Carlsen- Bass
Record Label: Mighty Music / Target Distribution


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green