Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 48 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Amoral - In Sequence

In Sequence
by Sebastien “Bass” Parent at 05 April 2016, 7:30 PM

Hello Metal-Temple. AMORAL just released their 7th full-length album, which makes it the 4th with 2007 Finland Idol winner Ari Koivunen. This Finland based band has changed their style a few times since their debut in 1997, they moved from Technical Death Metal to Death/Trash Metal to Power Metal. But it seems this album is coming back a little to their root in Death Metal.

Ari does bring this Power Metal voice to the band, but Nike’s guttural growl is back in full force on this album. Some songs like “Defuse the Past” is mostly voiced by Nike. It makes for an interesting mix with both of them taking the helm on different songs.

The album is well paced, going from a slow, ballad like, prologue “In Sequence” to a more ruthless sound in “Rude Awakening”. The band was able to change their style drastically from one song to the other. Although, knowing Ari’s range of voice, I felt like it was a bit flat on some passage. Nike’s vocals, however, were spot on throughout the album.

Musically, the guitars are not at rest at all, riffs and solos are a major part of most of the songs. Like in “The Betrayal”, you get a few massive solos around the second tier of the song. It all goes down to a very slow pace right after in “Sounds of Home”. This acoustic ballad could have been a track from a totally different style of music, you can even hear what sounds like a clarinet in some part of the song.

The album revolves really around Power and Death Metal, but one song dips into the Progressive Metal; namely “From the Beginning (The Note, Pt. 2)”. This was probably my favourite song of the album at a length of 10:44. There is really a feeling of progression as they are telling the story. The music also evolves throughout the song into a beautiful melody.

It is a fair album to say the least, but I don’t feel like it’s as epic as they make it to be. I really enjoyed listening to it though, and if you are into the Death/Power Metal genre, I’d suggest you give it a go.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Memorability: 6
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. In Sequence (A Prologue)
2. Rude Awakening
3. The Betrayal
4. Sounds of Home
5. The Next One to Go
6. Helping Hands
7. Defuse the Past
8. From the Beginning (The Note, Pt. 2)
Ari Koivunen – Vocals
Nike Kalliojärvi – Vocals, Guitars
Juhana Karlsson – Drums
Ben Varon – Guitars
Pekka Johansson – Bass
Masi Hukari – Guitars
Record Label: Imperial Cassette


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green