Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Amorphis - Am Universum (CD)

Am Universum
by Yiannis Mitsakos at 01 April 2001, 12:03 AM

There are many things one can say about Amorphis. It's amazing how they manage to progress without ever being mainstream or repeating themselves. Their music can hardly be defined, all you can say is metal. In their new album you can hear sounds ranging from in your face riffs and growls to a saxophone, all in the same song.
I really expected to see how they would move on from the amazing Tuonela and Amorphis didn't fail me. Santeri does wonders with synth and Hammond organ, filling every detail of this album. Their new bassist plays really well with Pekka, both guitars give a great depth while keeping up with instruments alien to normal metal.
Pasi sounds really emotional, while he has reduced the growls in minimum. Ok, I admit that I loved Greed vocals from Tuonela, but you can't have it all ;) He is more than up to the job. If you liked the vocals in the past, nothing will change your opinion now.
I don't know how metal fans will judge this album. It all depends on the point of view. If you like typical metal, you'll propably pass it by. If you like -successful- experimentations you will propably love it. I know I did. Highlights are Alone, Crimson Wave, Drifting Memories. Well it's really hard for a song to stand out in this album, there is an amazing variety of styles in there. Some say it's the most complete Amorphis ever. I'll just say it's darn good and I can't wait for the next.

4 Star Rating

Goddess (Of The Sad Man)
The Night Is Over
Shatters Within
Crimson Wave
Drifting Memories
Forever More
Veil Of Sin
Captured State
Grieve Stricken Heart
Pasi Koskinen - Vocals
Esa Holopainen - Guitar
Tomi Koivusaari - Guitar
Niclas Etelavuori - Bass
Santeri Kallio - Synthesizers
Pekka Kasari - Drums
Sakari Kukko - Saxophone (Session Member)
Record Label: Nuclear Blast


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green