Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, leanne

Angelica - Thrive Award winner

by Katarzyna Zakolska at 28 October 2013, 4:47 PM

The ANGELICA project is basically the talented Swedish singer Angelica Rylin who proves once again the beauty of AOR music. After releasing two albums with THE MURDER OF MY SWEET, Rylin will be releasing her debut solo album called "Thrive” via Frontiers Records. The album consists of some excellent guitarists such as Jesper Stromblad (ex-IN FLAMES), Magnus Karlsson (PRIMAL FEAR), Per Berquist (SMASH INTO PIECES). There is also a very special performance by keyboardist Matt Guillory (James LaBrie). Also there were Harry Hess, Daniel Flores, Robert Sall, Alessandro Del Vecchio and Anders Wigelius that provided their own contributions.

The great opener “Breaking My Heart” shares various electronic sampling, vibrant melodic singing, well worked AOR with an obvious catchy chorus. Rylin has that fine range and voice pattern of examples of HEART and Lita Ford. I like "Take Me To Your Heart” so much, delivered with a gentle intro, heavier riffs & amazing chorus. Yeah, this track is so memorable. Also I shared appreciation to “You Will Never Win” with commercialized type of sound, yet felt like your everyday 80’s hit. On “To Your Rescue” there is the same 80’s vibe but with a modern approach, provided with meaty riffing, vivacious keyboards’ display listening and a hell of a chorus to back them up. amazing keys & strong guitars can feeling as 80's comeback. The notable “Riding Out The Storm” is a song to head back to again and again, a type of energetic AOR that shouldn’t be missed. Feels of EUROPE and FOREIGNER in style of the guitars’ playing and melodic keyboards overflow can be noticed on “Nothing Else You Can Break”. “I Am Strong”, channeling an amazing keyboards’ line, reminded me of CHASING VIOLETS with AOR melodic guitars and melodic strong voice. “Can't Stop Love” is the foundation of a strong power balladry with a wonderful engulfing atmosphere. Also worth to listen are: the second ballad “Losers In Paradise”, the perfect linking between calmness and dynamism on “I'm Not Waiting” and the vigorous guitars & melodic sounds on “This Kiss Is Just For You”.

This CD is full of killer tracks, each of these babies could have been a radio friendly or  a potential hit for the charts. “Thrive” is aimed mostly for melodic Rock and AOR fans, however, anyone that can appreciate the glamour of the 80’s would want to sink his teeth onto this one. 

4 Star Rating

1. Breaking My Heart
2. I Am Strong
3. To Your Rescue
4. Can't Stop Love
5. Nothing Else You Can Break
6. Riding Out The Storm
7. Rain On My Parade
8. Losers In Paradise
9. You Will Never Win
10. This Kiss Is Just For You
11. I'm Not Waiting
12. Take Me To Your Heart
Angelica Rylin - Vocals
Record Label: Frontiers Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green