Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Anifernyan – Augur

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 22 August 2019, 6:19 AM

ANIFERNYEN is a name taken from ancient Breton texts which referred to hell as “An Ifern Yen”. Translated to contemporary English these words mean “A Cold Hell.” “Augur” is the title of ANIFERNYAN’s debut album. It gathers 11 original tracks that lyrically prophesy the end times. Mixed and mastered by Miguel Tereso (Demigod Recordings). Artwork created by Credo Quia Absurdum. It will be released September 9th 2019 through the label “Ethereal Sound Works.”

The title track, “Augur,” leads off the album…it’s a quick mood setting instrumental, leading to “Tyrant.” The double bass rolls and the vocals vary from low utterances to higher screams. It has a darkness that is hard to overcome. “Eldritch Moon” opens with a melodic guitar riff and some powerful, commanding vocals. It pauses for a brief spell before returning with a renewed vigor. “Emmisary” opens with a slow grind and dual vocals that are ultra-low, sounding like they are coming from the Dark Lord himself. The sound picks up a bit in pace and the vocals as well. “Graveborn” opens with a slower pace and a fairly simple riff. It doesn’t really make a mark however, except for the vocals, which are nicely done.

“Voleur D’-Mess” opens with the thudding of bass guitar notes. Guitar joins in and the riff begins to pummel you. It stays pretty basic however and it there is one thing I could point to improve on if would be the riffing. “Foreshadowing” opens with a slow grind. The riff picks up in pace and the vocals are once again on point. Too many open notes are used however; they need to find a way to vary things up a bit. “Christendoom” is the first song that bring some variegate to the album, with a riff that comes alive and supports the vocals well. The whispers are a nice touch as well. “Wormwood” features another simple riff pattern. It varies just a bit but once again the vocals are the real hero here.

“Deadite” closes the album. It opens with a marching like cadence, and then settles into a mid-tempo pace. The vocals steal the show once again. Overall, I found the album to have potential, but they are not quite there just yet. The vocals saved the album from drowning in the riffs. Daniel Lucas put in one hell of a performance. His style, his command, and his diversity really brought a lot to the table. I can see why the music was played a bit safe; it is the band’s debut album. But if they want to stand out, they are going to have to take some chances on the next release.

Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Memorability: 5
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Augur
2. Tyrant
3. Eldritch Moon
4. Emissary
5. Graveborn
6. Voleur D’-Mess
7. Foreshadowing
8. Christendoom
9. Wormwood
10. Neverlight
11. Deadite
Daniel Lucas – Vocals
Luís Ferreira – Guitar
Diogo Malheiro – Guitar
Hugo Almeida – Drums
Ricardo Vieira – Bass
Record Label: Ethereal Sound Works


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green