Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Anthrax - Anthem Award winner

by Fede "FedeRock" Taich at 25 February 2013, 1:54 PM

ANTHRAX needs no introduction in the worldwide Metal scene. This band has been around since the early 80s, a member of the big 4, and are a powerful Metal act to date. “Anthem” is a tribute EP for the music they love named after a RUSH song that also commenced the release.

ANTHRAX covered bands from the 70s doing their own ANTHRAX versions of these great songs, and it sounds amazing. This EP is on my iPhone since the day I got it and has become the only thing I’ve been listening to in the past couple of weeks.

The vocals sung by Joey Belladonna are something else; Belladonna is in my opinion one of Metal greatest singers, the best American one for sure. The rhythm section of Charlie Benante and his nephew Frank Bello sounds tight as hell, as always, and the guitars played by Scott Ian and Rob Caggiano, that left the band a few days after the recording of this EP, are plain perfect and stand right there with Angus Young, Alex Lifeson and the other guitar heroes that played and wrote the originals.

Besides the covers they put the album version of “Crawl” a song from their last album “Worship Music” that came out two years ago and has been a great comeback album for Belladonna.

The Production and mixing was done once again by Jay Ruston, is no less that profound. The sound is modern but has a very old school live vibe to it. Once again it proves that Ruston is becoming one of the top American Metal Mixers.
In conclusion, awesomeness and a very fun to listen EP. A must for ANTHRAX and Hard Rock fans alike.

5 Star Rating

1. Anthem (Rush Cover)
2. Jailbreak (Thin Lizzy Cover)
3. TNT - (AC/DC Cover)
4. Smokin (Boston Cover)
5. Big Eyes (Cheap Trick Cover)
6. keep On Runnin (Journey Cover)
7. Crawl (Album Version)
8. Crawl (Special Remix)
Joey Belladonna - Vocals
Scott Ian - Guitar
Frank Bello - Bass
Rob Caggiano - Guitar
Charlie Benante - Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green