Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Appalling – Sacrilege

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 06 December 2022, 1:24 PM

APPALLING is a Black/Death Metal formed in Virginia, USA, in 2015. “Sacrilege” is the band’s third release, and contains nine songs. The short into “The Morningstar After” is the first. It’s a short introductory song, with filthy vocals, galloping drums and a punishing riff. “Life in Prism” is a little longer, and with a bombastic, “bombs are going off” sound. They cram about 10,000 notes into this song, but the structure is fairly loose. “Gilded Restraints” is another brutal offering with a relentless attack of guitars and drums especially. There is a little more of a backbone to the song, but it is buried pretty far down.

“Unwavering Feeling of Dread and Despair” is more of the same, and the songs are starting to blend together. This is my chief complaint on an album. Sure, the sound is brutal, but there is more to Metal than that. “Father Inferior” is really the first song that doesn’t come at you with lightning speed, and there is a discernible backbone under it all. The sound is energetic, but also dissonant. “Collection Plate” is yet another brutal song that doesn’t let up. I’m not sure how the drummer in particular can keep up, so kudos to him. But the rest of the song is just not, well, memorable. “Pavilion” is another song that smashes in your face with a hammer and keeps striking you.

“These People Need to Die” is a sentiment I can often echo. The song however doesn’t offer much beyond the usual punishment. Overall, this is a decent combination of Death and Black Metal. The problem is that many of the songs sound the same, and it is unwavering in its approach. Cool it down a bit, change things up a bit, and you might surprise your fans.

Songwriting: 3
Musicianship: 5
Memorability: 2
Production: 6

2 Star Rating

1. The Morningstar After
2. Life in Prism
3. Gilded Restraints
4. Unwavering Feeling of Dread and Despair
5. Father Inferior
6. Collection Plate
7. Pavilion
8. Nunsploitation
9. These People Need to Die
T – Guitars
D. M. – Guitars
B. M. – Vocals
B. – Drums
Daniel Morgan – Bass
Record Label: Personal Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green