Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

45 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Arion – Last Of Us Award winner

Last of Us
by Katarzyna Zakolska at 25 October 2014, 5:22 PM

ARION is a Symphonic Power Metal band from Helsinki in Finland. Comprised of a trio of 17 and 18 year old music students from Sibelius Lukio and their equally accomplished muso friends, their song “Lost” debuted in the summer of 2012. They entered it to the Eurovision song contest's Finnish qualification and found themselves in the nationally televised qualification rounds. In May 2013 the band signed with label Ranka Kustannus and released their debut EP “New Dawn” in November 2013. Their debut album “Last Of Us” was honed to perfection under the tutelage and surveillance of Matias Kupiainen (STRATOVARIUS) and it was released in June 2014.

A great symphonic opener- “The Passage” is an amazing showing of what we can expect to be listening to during the next hour.  I liked “Out of the Ashes” a lot, where there are powerful drums and a nice melody with symphonic genres and catchy choruses with the choir of the band. The melodic singing by the vocalist with a higher climate in refrain and perfect working guitars in Power Metal style make it as a kick-ass track! The energetic drums with gentle keys in “Seven” sound similarity to such bands like GAMMA RAY, HELLOWEEN, HAMMERFALL and the symphonic elements are similar to THERION and NIGHTWISH. All of that sounds really impressive with big dose of melody.

In “Shadows” they are showing influences of AMARANTHE or STRATOVARIUS, where gentle openings change into stronger guitars with modern sounds and a catchy chorus in smooth style. This song had a impressive guitar and key solo! The title track “Last of Us” has a high climate with commercial echoes, fabulous guitar solos and shows class of a band in the Rock & Metal genre. I loved the piano ballad “You're My Melody” which is very climatic with symphonic calmer elements and wonderful singing by Viljami Holopainen. The modern sounds with an AMARANTHE similarity in “Lost” show that the band is very open in music and they mix piano, symphonic choir, heavy riffs, amazing choir, and high refrain throughout.

Melodic “I Am the Storm” is worth listening to with its really fine chorus in STRATOVARIUS style and fabulous heavy riffs, magnificent keys, and double-pedal drums. The Heavy Metal / Symphonic chorus in “Burn Your Ship” is where power mixes gentle violins, solos of guitars and keys which sound perfect. The melodic lower guitars add amazing atmosphere to the gorgeous choir of the band in the heavier “Watching You Fall” with Progressive elements that have a connection with Symphonic.

The Japanese edition also has four additional tracks: Symphonic/Power Metal “New Dawn” where catchy sounds with full of energy create such an epic atmosphere, an edited version of “Shadows,” and two amazing acoustic versions of “Lost” and “Last of Us”.

In my opinion, the debut album “Last Of Us” is totally killer and this is a true sensation. I love the sounds of these Finnish Power Metallers! In their sounds is hearable young power and passionate music. It is unbelievable that they are teenagers! They sound as if they are experienced musicians! The production and playing is on a high level. Every fan of bands such as GAMMA RAY, HELLOWEEN, SONATA ARCTICA, DRAGON FORCE, AMARANTHE, STRATOVARIUS and Power Metal fans should get this album and listen it! Melody is pouring out from this CD and every song is worth a listen. I am sure they will be very popular everywhere on the world very soon!

4 Star Rating

1. The Passage
2. Out of the Ashes
3. Seven
4. Shadows
5. You're My Melody
6. I Am the Storm
7. Burn Your Ship
8. Lost
9. Last of Us
10. Watching You Fall
11. New Dawn (Bonus Track)
12. Shadows (Edit Version) (Bonus Track)
13. Lost (Acoustic Version) (Bonus Track)
14. Last of Us (Acoustic Version) (Bonus Track)
Viljami Holopainen - Vocals
Iivo Kaipainen - Guitars
Arttu Vauhkonen - Keyboards
Gege Velinov - Bass
Topias Kupiainen - Drums
Record Label: Ranka Kustannus


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green