Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

52 guests

Welcome to our newest member, leanne

Artillery - The Face Of Fear

The Face Of Fear
by Craig Rider at 08 November 2018, 1:46 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: ARTILLERY; signed via Metal Blade Records, hailing from Danish grounds - performing Thrash Metal, on their 9th album entitled: “The Face Of Fear” (released November 16th, 2018).

Since formation in 1982; the band in question have 8 albums behind them, I am introduced to their 9th album: “The Face Of Fear”. 11 tracks ranging at around 45:32; ARTILLERY arrange an intricately designed formula of heavy-hitting Thrash Metal developments. The titular track begins the record; conveying in an introduction in which opens up in an atmospherically crowded yet quiet, and peaceful street…until an omimous snare drum batters the scene a few times, and then a hardened heat of metal speeds into my soul - fuelled with flamboyantly composed adrenaline, attributing in an amplified aesthetic that excels with meticulous rhythms and relentless ramifications. Rampaging with stampeding onslaughts, persistently and vehemently variating with versatile rambunctiousness. Good, concrete solidity here - implementing inventive elements & skill.

Consisting of Stützer brothers Michael & Morton on guitar, the duo demonstrate complex dexterity in beefy bangers like “Crossroads To Conspiracy” & “New Rage” in which efficiently distribute dominate fury with rapidly swift nimbleness – amalgamated with dynamically blistering diversity in the riffs and solo department, as well as some sonically systematic songwriting stability. Michael Bastholm Dahl on vocals establishes gritty; clean pipes in the bouncy “Sworn Utopia”, experimenting with high-pitched screams while converged with conceptual harmonies that hastily jump with thunderously hammering crunchiness from pounding drummer Josua Madsen; who expertly slams his steel with profusely robust grooves and a grandiose manifestation catchy creativity, especially in the next belter: “Through The Ages Of Atrocity”.

Thirst For The Worst” audibly provides pummelling bass adroitness from bassist Peter Thorslund, showcasing uniquely unprecedented ultilization that frolicks with heavy hymns and enlightening executions - giving me a dose of diligent thrash specialities. “Pain” has memorably original kicks in which juxtapose with fulfilling fabrications, bashing away with efficaciously distinctive melodies that strum with viciously hostile velocity. “Under Water” is an uncompromised instrumental, supplying elegantly exquisite orchestrations and savagely primitive musicianship that are proficiently subtle. ”Preaching To The Converted” is another deadly track; tinkering with collateral captivation and distinguished craftsmanship, detailing in effectively salubrious seamlessness that will make anyone break chairs over other chairs.

Overall concluding “The Face Of Fear” with 2 re-recorded versions of “Mind Of No Return” (which was first released on the 1982 Demo entitled: “We Are The Dead) & “Doctor Evil”, (with the latter song being first released on the 2013 record entitled: “Legions). The former having an organic aesthetic of fludly polished substances of the original, and the latter being a somewhat unnecessary re-release - because it is a fairly new song, being released first on 2013…

Bottom line; the borderline foundation here is full of firepower finesse, punchline and visceral viciousness that promptly wins with old-school as well as new-school traditional culminations - worth jamming to.

Songwriting: 8
Memorability: 8
Originality: 8
Sound Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. The Face of Fear
2. Crossroads To Conspiracy
3. New Rage
4. Sworn Utopia
5. Through The Ages Of Atrocity
6. Thirst For The Worst
7. Pain
8. Under Water (instumental)
9. Preaching to the converted
10. Mind Of No Return
11. Doctor Evil
Michael Stützer - Guitars
Morten Stüzer - Guitars
Josua Madsen - Drums
Peter Thorslund - Bass
Michael Bastholm Dahl - Vocals
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green