Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers


by Yiannis Dafopoulos at 14 February 2010, 8:02 PM

I had the chance to get to know AVATAR’s music in 2007, when the band released "Schlacht". I wasn’t too amazed by them, but they had something special in their sound, something that attracted me but I wasn’t sure what that was. Only a few years later, with their brand new self titled record I came to realize what was hidden in their sound…

The Swedish act was formed in 2001 and released its debut album five years later, when the band’s members were only 18 years old! The band has been a part of the Swedish label Gain Music Entertainment since then. Despite being young they have managed to have three albums out there (including "Avatar") and were picked by IN FLAMES as a support act on their sold out Scandinavian tour in 2007. By the way, has the new same titled film helped them in any way? Who knows?

AVATAR can be described in a few words if you ask me. This band is what IN FLAMES should be today. IN FLAMES tried to make their sound more modern with every release and lost it somewhere in my humble opinion. AVATAR, deeply influenced by the well known Swedish act have managed to do what IN FLAMES tried to do, but still keeping their Metal roots and their appetite for aggressive sounds. A fine example for what I say is the album’s opening track "Queen Of Blades" with is nice leads and catchy chorus. The album is full of well structured music and it seems that these guys have put a lot of thought in "Avatar". The album has everything a modern Metal fan could ask for. Groove, catchy choruses, nice guitar leads and a definitely talented singer!

I think that this album will be the big breakthrough for the band since they prove that they have everything it takes to take themselves really high! A solid release that has to give something to you for sure. Check them out and you won’t be disappointed.

4 Star Rating

  1. Queen Of Blades
  2. The Great Pretender
  3. Shattered Wings
  4. Reload
  5. Out Of Our Minds
  6. Deeper Down
  7. Revolution Of Two
  8. Roadkill
  9. Pigfucker
  10. Lullaby (Death Over All)
Johannes Eckerstrom - Vocals
Jonas Jarlsby - Guitar
Simon Andersson - Guitar
Henrik Sandelin - Bass
John Alfredsson - Drums
Record Label: Gain Music Entertainment


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 30 November 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green