Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

46 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Averlanche – Life’s Phenomenon

Life’s Phenomenon
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 23 January 2021, 4:59 AM

AVERLANCHE was founded in Helsinki, Finland in 2017. During the same year, they recorded their first demo, titled “The Machinery of Life.” After the release of the demo and some gigs, they decided it was time to record their debut full-length album. The band spent 12 days in the beautiful countryside of Finland and recorded eleven songs for their debut album, “Life’s Phenomenon.”

“Kuvittelematta” leads off the album. It’s a short, spoken word piece mouthed in Finnish. “Imagined Nothing” begins with lead guitar notes and a bit of a thin rhythm section. Piano notes sprinkle in, and there is just a bit of disconnect with the vocals and the music. Rebecca’s voice is OK, but I have heard bigger and more confident female vocals before. The music is also just OK…nothing really special here. “The Diamond Hills” features some nice keyboard melodies. I also like the slightly darker tone here, but the faster moving song reminds me a bit of Power Metal. I wish Rebecca would just cut loose, because although the music does not lack melody, it lacks dynamism.

“The Sounds of Insomnia” is a fitting title because they are starting to put me to sleep. The keyboard solo is well done, however, but the overly melancholy music is wearing on me. “Circus” features some vocals done in a higher range, but she fades a bit as she stretches into the upper ranges. The music is fairly generic, although the piano parts stick with you. “Hate” is a shorter and more memorable sound, from the lead guitars in the opening along with strong keyboard melodies. Again, Rebecca’s voices gets thin in the upper ranges, but I like the haste presented here.

“Flowers” is a slow and charming song, opening with clean guitars and some key ambiance. This song is more suitable to her voice because it’s frail and alluring. I’m not sure she is the right choice for the sturdier tracks on the album. “The Machinery of Life” opens with some well-done lead guitar notes, and a much more interesting guitar riff. At times they have me, and other times they lose me. I think it just comes from being a new band and trying to find their sound. “Rakastunnet” (or “Rain Factory”) begins with some choppy guitar parts and some variation in the vocals. The keys are almost circus-like but the song has energy.

“Archives of Love” has another opening sequence that suits her vocals quite well. From there, it does gain a little sound, but remains fairly thin overall. The guitar solo is very brief but quite smoking. “Ghost” closes the album. It’s another three-minute song with yet another thin sound overall. The lead guitar parts are well done, but the song really fails to get off the ground. I think it’s an honest attempt at a debut album, from a group of newcomers. There are some nice moments on the album and the keyboardist is quite good, but beyond that, the album suffers from a dynamic that could help to set it apart from thousands of other bands in the genre. Let’s hope they gain some experience and really set out hard from the start with their next album. There was some wasted potential here.

Songwriting: 5
Musicianship: 6
Memorability: 3
Production: 7

2 Star Rating

1. Kuvittelematta
2. Imagined Nothing
3. The Diamond Hills
4. The Sounds of Insomnia
5. Circus
6. Hate
7. Flowers
8. The Machinery of Life
9. Rakastuneet
10. Archives of Love
11. Ghost
Joonas Hämäläinen – Bass
Antti Pätsi – Drums
Otto Haalahti – Guitars
Antti Kopra – Keyboards
Rebecca Spörl – Vocals
Record Label: Concorde Music Company


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 05 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green