Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Aviscerus – Visceral Depths

Visceral Depths
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 04 December 2022, 7:05 AM

AVISCERUS formed in 2014 in Perth, Australia. “Visceral Depths” is their debut full-length album and contains nine songs. “Guidance” is the first. The riff is fairly simple, as are the vocals, and the song moves slowly, without much energy. “It Lurks” isn’t a whole lot better. There are some light Progressive elements mixed in with the machine gun drumming, but again, the riff is trite and the pig squeals are somewhat predictable. “A Rare Breed of Catastrophe” is another slower grind that just lacks dynamism. The album is starting to become pretty boring at this point.

“Animus” has a little more energy, but the song still falls flat. The band isn’t without some talent, but they need to find a way to shake things up a bit. Besides some variation in the vocals, this song doesn’t offer much in the way of originality. “Sightless Eyes” is really the first song, next to the very short “Depths,” that offers a different sound. Clean guitars and thumping bass open the song, along with some tense tones in the background. From there however, it’s back to more of the same. “Amidst the Crushing Currents” isn’t much better in terms of the sound being similar to other songs. There is some riff movement here and there, but it’s not the central sound of the song.

“No Reprieve” is much like the others again…the same length, and a similar sound. The vocals are rapped at times here, which I do not care for. “Scorched Plains” closes the album and is more of the same again. I hate to be repetitive, but that’s all I hear. Australia is normally a hot bed for Metal, which is why I am surprised at this band and album. The riffs lack energy, as do the vocals, and they are very elementary in their approach. I have to file this album under boring, and lacking dynamism. I know they can do better than this.

Songwriting: 3
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 3
Production: 7

2 Star Rating

1. Guidance
2. Depths
3. It Lurks
4. A Rare Breed of Catastrophe
5. Animus
6. Sightless Eyes
7. Amidst the Crushing Currents
8. No Reprieve
9. Scorched Plains
Herb Bennetts – Drums
Kristian Climo – Guitars
Jesse Solich – Bass
Cody Bennett – Vocals
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green