Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Awake At Last – The Change Award winner

Awake At Last
The Change
by Brian "Metal" Morton at 07 July 2019, 12:01 AM

AWAKE AT LAST has released their first full length album “The Change”. Hailing from Dover, Delaware, this bands lyrical themes are all about positivity, spirituality and self-help. The band is made up of Vincent Torres on vocals, Eric Blackway and Imran Xhelili on guitars and Jon Finney on drums. So let’s get started on this positive and spiritual journey through “The Change”.

The song “Rebirth” is where we start off. It begins with a beautiful melody and really nice vocals. It’s only a minute and a half long but it’s pretty damn powerful. It has a similar vibe to some Power Metal in my opinion. The next song is “Welcome to Life” which kicks in with a bang. This song is like if KILLSWITCH ENGAGE and DREAM THEATER got together. It’s actually pretty damn good if you ask me. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this album or not but this song kicks ass!

“More Than Animals” delves into the electronic side of metal which I really enjoy a lot. This song will definitely get you in the mood to rock out. It’s one of those songs that’s just a whole lot of fun to listen to. I really enjoyed this one a whole lot. “Dead Generation” is extremely catchy and it keeps up the pace of the album. I really enjoyed the chorus a whole lot. The line “Are we alive or a dead generation” really struck a chord with me.

“Unobtainable” is way heavier than the previous songs. I definitely started banging my head every so slightly. This song is also catchy as hell and highly energetic. It kinda reminds me of something that would have come out in the early 2000’s. It’s really damn good and I’m looking forward to the rest of the album so let’s press on.

“Let Go” slows it down a bit with a very beautiful guitar par in the beginning. It also has it’s sped up parts. This song seems to build up explode and then slow down again repeatedly. The musicianship is absolutely amazing. This song was a whole lot of fun. “My Enemy” is another with some electronic influences. It sort of reminds me of INNERPARTYSYSTEM which is a guilty pleasure of mine, so obviously I really liked this song. “Bigger Picture” is probably going to be a fan favorite. It’s a really good track.

Another song I really like is “The Change”. This song is really epic and a whole lot of fun to listen to. “Paralyzed” is pretty damn heavy and is also one of my favorite songs on the album. I really appreciated the lyrics as well. It’s one of the best as far as musicianship goes. “Still Breathing” is fucking amazing. Everything about this song is perfect and I could listen to it over and over. The final song is “Fallen Stars” is by far the heaviest song on the album and is my number one favorite. The lyrics really touched a spot in my heart. This is a song that could help a lot of people who have depression and that’s another reason I like it so much. This whole album was remarkable and I am really happy I had the chance to review it.

Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Rebirth
2. Welcome to Life
3. More Than Animals
4. Dead Generation
5. Unobtainable
6. Let Go
7. My Enemy
8. Bigger Picture
9. The Change
10. Paralyzed
11. Still Breathing
12. Fallen Stars
Vincent Torres – Vocals
Eric Blackway – Guitar
Imran Xhelili – Guitar
Jon Finney – Drums
Record Label: Outerloop Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green