Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Awaken - Self-Titled

by Tuoksu Holopainen at 28 March 2013, 3:57 PM

The name AWAKEN might be a little confusing since there are several bands out there bearing it. The band I'll be talking about in this review is the Progressive Metal band from US, formed in 2009, and this is their debut album. Hence, I guess you are altogether unfamiliar with their music.

In fact, the sound is very mature for a debut album by a newcomer-band. The riffs are solid and catchy, the solos are awesome and the vocals are excellent. I can say that the highlight of the whole thing is indeed Glenn DaGrossa's vocals. The Bruce Dickinson influence is very prominent.

This release is very good as a whole. However, it has highs and lows. "Mourning Heroes", "Beneath The Surface", for instance, are very interesting. "My Silent Breath" is a mellow ballad with additional orchestral and keyboard harmonies, whereas "Awaken" is totally worth being the title track. In this song you'll be definitely hearing SYMPHONY X. I think it made up for the weakness of its preceding tracks. "The Inquisitor" is another SYMPHONY X / DREAM THEATER song, and it is probably my personal favorite, for the moment.

What I liked about this album is that the last tracks are much more powerful than the first ones, so I strongly recommend you bear with the first boring half of the album because the latter half is totally worth listening to.

In the end, I shall say it's such a decent release and it will find its way easily to your music player if you're a Progressive Metal guru. 

3 Star Rating

1. March of Aachen
2. As the Dark, so the Light
3. Bones to Dust
4. Beneath the Surface
5. Mourning Heroes
6. My Silent Breath
7. Awaken
8. The Inquisitor
9. Death of Me
10. In This Circle 
Scott "The Body" Bennett - Guitars
Joe Todaro - Guitars
Glenn DaGrossa - Vocals
Freddy Villano - Bass
Nick D'Alessandro - Drums
Record Label: Mausoleum Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green