Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

30 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Axegressor - Bannerless Award winner

by Kyle Scott at 22 May 2018, 7:03 AM

My first impression of AXEGESSOR is that they do not like SJWs. They get that out of the way pretty much right out of the gate with their title track “In Safe Space No One Can Hear You Scream”. These Finnish Thrash lords decided to go all out for their fourth album release, “Bannerless”, and it looks like they gave a good roundhouse kick to everyone’s expectations. That message being the one they are most concerned about, evidently. The idea of abandoning burdens of expectations in order to live a more authentic life. And since no one usually listens to this message, AXEGRESSOR screams it loud enough to not be ignored.

AXEGRESSOR might not make terrible motivational speakers, actually. They encourage you to not please toxic people: “Ever Bending Spine”, be more autonomous: “Bridges to Cross and Burn”, don’t be intolerant and uninformed: “Igno Rant”, and, possibly the most important rule, “Don’t Be an Asshole”. With all the unrelenting noise that gets yelled back and forth, AXEGRESSOR attempts to break from the crust of the Earth to boom a deafening message of “JUST STOP ALL YOUR SHIT!” before shattering everything to oblivion. “Human Travesty” and “Igno Rant” take things a bit slower than the rest of the album, but no less heavy, and they tear some pages from old school Death Metal. While there aren’t many solos, AXEGRESSOR has no need for such showy trappings. You don’t have to be dazzled by any complex, high-velocity riffs. Just sit back, relax, and let your face be hammered in. Atte Makela beats those drums like they slept with his girlfriend! I’m sure everyone can agree Death By Atomic Cymbal Burial would make a sweet engraving on a tombstone.

AXEGRESSOR seeks to embody everything that Thrash is and then some. AXEGRESSOR’s “Bannerless” doesn’t make any excuses for themselves and neither should you.

Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Memorability: 9
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. In Safe Space No One Can Hear You Scream
2. Ever Bending Spine
3. Bridges to Cross and Burn
4. Terminal Ignition
5. Igno-Rant
6. Human Travesty
7. The Lethality of Mediocrity
8. Barren Bloodline Worship
9. Truth Prostitute
10. Peace at Last
11. Don’t Be an Asshole
Johnny Nuclear Winter - Vocals
Seba Forma - Lead and Rhythm Guitar
Aki Paulamaki - Bass and Backing Vocals
Atte Makela - Drums
Record Label: Brutal Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 30 January 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green