Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Axehammer - Lord Of The Realm (Reissue)

Lord Of The Realm (Reissue)
by Michael "MettleAngel" Francisco at 14 January 2013, 12:55 PM

No Remorse Records have reissued the classic debut (EP) by California's own AXEHAMMER on limited edition vinyl. The mix here appears to be a tad bit different than the awesome version that Sentinel Steel put out in 1998. Apparently, this version issued last year, in early September, is limited to 500 hand-numbered copies, and the pressing includes lyrics, photos and band biography. I have the Sentinel Steel CD version, and I was very impressed with the packaging.

All the songs are the same, and in the same order. Also, there are no bonus tracks. Even the crazy Radio promo slot for the Whisky Show performance with AGENT STEEL and WANTED BREED is included. The first five tracks were recorded at El Dorado Studios between the end of 1986 and the early part of 1987. AXEHAMMER did the original production, but on the re-mastered CD version Denis Gulbey assisted with the mastering and the cover design, while Eric Rachel cooperated with the engineering and final mix.

If you are unfamiliar with the Classic Metal style this band plays, and how they break down the walls of time, I would put them in that original Classic Power Metal vibe of other bands of their time such as STEEL ASSASSIN, LIEGE LORD, STEEL VENGEANCE,EXXPLORER, ATTACKER, or OMEN. Many of these bands are still active today, having survived the sands of time, and some of them even share the same Pure Steel Records current roster with AXEHAMMER.

I wish I did have this physical re-issue on vinyl, so I could play it on my turntable to attain that nostalgic vibe. I only have the digital promo, but it is always fun to revisit the early work of these wind riders of doom, who continue to march on with sword and shield in hand into a prosperous new tomorrow.

3 Star Rating

1. Princess
2. Lord Of The Realm
3. Sands Of Time
4. Break Down The Walls
5. Axehammer
6. Radio Commercial
7. Wings Of Fire '84
8. Sword And Shield '84
9. Axehammer '84
Bill Ramp  – Vocals
Jerry Watt – Guitars
Kit Carlson – Bass
Joe Aghassi – Drums (1-5)
Mark Sky – Drums (6-8)
Record Label: No Remorse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green