Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

24 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Ayreon - Universal Migrator 1 & 2 (Reissue) Award winner

Universal Migrator 1 & 2 (Reissue)
by MetalWim at 11 December 2022, 2:58 PM

Arjen Lucassen is a Dutch guitarist who started his career with BODINE before becoming quite famous with VENGEANCE. He recorded several albums with both bands, and was even known for writing the tune of VARA’S VUURWERK, which was a very well listened to Heavy Metal Radio programme in the Netherlands. It dawned on him that he loved the recording very much, but wasn’t so keen on the touring and standing in front of an audience. So, he decided to start for himself.

Choosing a name was quite easy, he just anglified his own, making it AYREON. He started recording, and when he released his second rock opera called “The Electric Castle”, he became very famous, not just in his own country, but worldwide. It was a huge success, so much so that he knew the follow-up had to be quite impressive too. He started writing, and soon found himself attracted to another sci-fi story that flowed out of his pen. This became “The Universal Migrator”, originally released in 2000.

Back then they were released as two separate albums. The first one, “The Dream Sequencer” is the more prog one, with definite references to his love for acts like DAVID BOWIE and PINK FLOYD. The second album is called “Flight of The Migrator” and is the more Metal of the two albums. To make them work, he recruited a lot of vocalists from around the world. And it worked! They sounded absolutely phenomenal. Especially the second album sold like hot cakes, although the first one didn’t do too bad either. AYREON fans are definitely coming from a Metal angle. The combination of the both the discs is perfect.

So how do you improve on perfection? Very simply put, you don’t! You can remaster and remix all you want, the sound might improve, but that is marginal. What makes this reissue work is all the extras that are available. If you get the simple CD version, you get an extra disc with recordings with newly played guitar solos. If you go for the earbook, you will also receive a comic book which tells the story of “The Universal Migrator”. And there are more versions. If you like, go to his site and have a look. I can only say that every Heavy, Power, Progressive and Melodic Metal/Rock lover should have heard this. If you do, you will be compelled to buy it. And if you do, please look up the rest of his discography. It’s just as impressive. Not bad for a musical genius that can’t read or write notes.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

Part 1: The Dream Sequencer
01 The Dream Sequencer
02 My House On Mars
03 2084
04 One Small Step
05 The Shooting Company Of Captain Frans B. Cocq
06 Dragon On The Sea
07 Temple Of The Cat
08 Buried By The Wind
09 And The Druids Turn To Stone
10 First Man On Earth
11 The Dream Sequencer Reprise
Part 2: Flight of the Migrator
01 Chaos
02 Dawn Of A Million Souls
03 Journey On The Waves Of Time
04 To The Quasar
05 Into The Black Hole
06 Through The Wormhole
07 Out Of The White Hole
08 To The Solar System
09 The New Migrator
Part 1: The Dream Sequencer
Arjen Lucassen
Damian Wilson
Edward Reekers
Floor Jansen
Jacqueline Govaert
Johan Edlund
Lana Lane
Mark McCrite
Neal Morse

Arjen Lucassen
Clive Nolan
Rob Snijders

Part 2: Flight of the Migrator
Andi Deris
Bruce Dickinson
Damian Wilson
Fabio Lione
Ian Parry
Lana Lane
Ralf Scheepers
Robert Soeterboek
Russell Allen
Timo Kotipelto

Arjen Lucassen
Clive Nolan
Ed Warby
Gary Wehrkamp
Keiko Kumagai
Michael Romeo
Oscar Holleman
Rene Merkelbach
Record Label: Music Theories Recordings / Mascot Label Group


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green