Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

22 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Betraying The Martyrs – Rapture Award winner

Betraying The Martyrs
by Brad Pfundheller at 08 October 2019, 3:16 PM

Eleven years ago in 2008, BETRAYING THE MARTYRS formed in Paris, France and just a year later released an EP titled “The Hurt, the Divine, The Light” and after some lineup changes over the years they became to be what we know them as, some brutal yet melodic and progressive Deathcore. After signing to Sumerian Records in 2011, the band has produced four albums for the label over the course of nearly a decade including this year’s release of “Rapture”.

“Eternal Machine” is full of dissonant guitar notes accompanied with a groovy bouncy guitar in front. Then, in comes the catchy chorus along with the clean vocals from Victor Guillet. “Down” has amazing tremolo picking and keeps you on the edge of your seat head banging throughout the entire thing. The vocal placements throughout the song are right on point. “Parasite” comes at you with the eerie keyboards in the verse that really helps bring out the guitar riffs. “The Sound of Letting You Go” shares a lot of the same aspects. The intro and throughout most of the song stays somewhat calming for a deathcore song until about a minute in. Then it unleashes Aaron Matts incredible vocal range to a ten out of ten filled with passion and aggression.

“Monster” opens with a faded in track that just explodes on impact. The fast pace drumming and guitars keep the momentum going. The synth and piano parts are subtle, but play a huge role in the song. “Incarcerated” is really well put together. There are so many original parts, such as the lone synth keys behind the low growling vocals. The changes in speed, the vocals changes and placements, and amazing drum work all work together perfectly. I would have to say it’s my favorite track on the album. The record closes with “Rapture”, and it truly has that “end of the world” feel to it. Complete with classic Death Metal vocals and blast beat drumming, and don’t forget about the eerie keyboards as well. It all flows together in a way to bring you front and center to the battlefield that they painted with their instruments.

Overall, “Rapture” was written and produced very well. I can’t find many negative things to say about it. BETRAYING THE MARTYRS just continues to push out great album after great album. If you’re looking for some 2019 deathcore with melodic and symphonic elements mixed with progressive metal. Then you have arrived at the right place with this album.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 10

4 Star Rating

1. Ignite
2. Eternal Machine
3. Down
4. The Iron Gates
5. Parasite
6. The Sound Of Letting You Go
7. The Swarm
8. Monster
9. Imagine
10. Incarcerated
11. Rapture
Aaron Matts – Vocals
Victor Guillet – Keyboards/Vocals
Baptiste Vigier – Guitar
Steeves Hostin – Guitar
Valentin Hauser – Bass
Boris Le Gal - Drums
Record Label: Sumerian Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green