Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Beyond Grace – Our Kingdom Undone

Beyond Grace
Our Kingdom Undone
by Thomas Kumke at 24 October 2021, 9:26 PM

BEYOND GRACE hailing from Nottingham, UK were formed in 2014. Before, almost all band members were active as THRENODY from 2005 to 2011 and then as BLOODGUARD from 2011 to 2014. BEYOND GRACE is a progressive Death Metal band and after having released 1 EP and 1 full-length album, “Our Kingdom Undone” is the band’s second album. It was mixed and mastered by Charles Elliot (ABYSMAL DAWN) at Tastemaker Audio. The album has a length of about 47 minutes and it was released via US label Prosthetic Records which is specialized in Metalcore, Death Metal, and Black Metal.

Our Kingdom Undone” is a mix of Death Metal, Deathcore, and progressive Death Metal and depending on the track, the focus is more on one or the other. The opening track combines all three elements, starting with powerful and dark guitar riffing in a measured mid-tempo, lots of double-bass drumming and growling vocals at the low end of the guttural range. It transitions soon into highly-paced part where the vocals are changing towards higher pitched growls and screams, with downtempo parts, highly technical lead guitar sequences including a solo. During the middle part, “Dark Forest Doctrine” is full in progressive mode. The progressive elements are more dominant in “Barmecide Feast” with frequent changes in tempo as well as variations between a more aggressive sound and technical comprehensive and distorted lead guitar parts.

Hive Mind” is one of the faster tracks on the album, at least for most parts of it. The track starts with a “kick-in-your-face” attitude including sharp guitar riffing, hammering drums, a lot of double-bass, and crunching bass lines. The middle part is dominated by the lead guitars and frequent changes in tempo with a down-tempo sequence at the end of the track, “Hive Mind” was released as official video and the YouTube link is given below.

Factions Speak Louder Than Herds” is played at a sluggish mid-tempo throughout and especially the first part is dominated by the double-bass drumming and the strong bass lines. During the middle part, the progressive parts become more dominant and the lead guitars create a cool atmosphere. The lead guitar solo is technically at a very high level and very contributing to the overall atmosphere. “The Price Of Peace” starts straight-forward and more aggressive than most of the other tracks on the album. Since BEYOND GRACE often use similar song structures with the more complex parts, tempo changes, twists and distortions coming in typically after two minutes of playing time, “The Price Of Peace” follows those patterns at the cost of aggression and heaviness. “Persona Non Grata” follows those footsteps but the track is arguably, beside “Fearmonger”, the darkest and heaviest song on the album.

Fearmonger” is very fast for most parts of the track with a few mid-tempo breaks. Progressive elements are kept to a minimum which maintains the intensity and aggression of “Fearmonger” throughout. The album closes out with the title song which has an impressive length of more than 12 minutes and it is a firework of all the best elements of technical and progressive Death Metal.

BEYOND GRACE deliver an album that is a clever mix of different Death Metal styles with progressive elements being the dominant part of their sound. “Our Kingdom Undone” is technically highly comprehensive regarding all instruments and a product of very good and mature songwriting. The sound of the album indicates that BEYOND GRACE have a clear plan for their future journey. The album is very well produced. Fans of technical and progressive Death Metal will dig “Our Kingdom Undone” and I am sure that BEYOND GRACE have a very good future in the Death Metal world.

Songwriting:  9
Musicianship:  8
Memorability:  8
Production:  8

4 Star Rating

1. Dark Forest Doctrine
2. Barmecide Feast
3. Hive Mind
4. Factions Speak Louder Than Herds
5. The Price Of Peace
6. Persona Non Grata
7. Fearmonger
8. Our Kingdom Undone
Andrew Walmsley – Vocals
Tim Yearsley – Guitars
Chris Morley ­ Guitars
Ed Gorrod – Drums, Vocals
Andrew Workman – Bass
Record Label: Prosthetic Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green