Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Black Hole - Lost World

Black Hole
Lost World
by Eric Tinmouth-Poulin at 14 July 2018, 9:41 AM

BLACK HOLE is a Power/Progressive metal band based out of Mullhouse, Grand Est, France. The project started in 1995 and this is their first full-length record entitled “Lost World”, released through the Via Nocturna label on May 31st 2018. The album immediately starts with double bass, keyboards and guitar riffing in “Better Days” and then slows down to a cleaner sound. Fabio Torrisi shows off very natural-sounding vocals and in the higher notes does remind me a bit of Klaus Meine

“No More Hope” shows off some nice piano prowess and some cool sounding bass lines from Patrick Umber. The more we hear the vocals, the more I feel he would have been a perfect fit in any Malmsteen-era. The power metal aspect is more evident in this one too. Some other highlights on the album include “Help Me” which shows a more IRON MAIDEN approach in melodies and structure.  “Forever with us” has a more melancholic and darker tempo, and definitely has that old school 80's power ballad feel (the connection to SCORPIONS here is very strong). “Carved In You” has some great emotion poured out in the solos, leading into a more traditional straight-ahead metal side. “The One” has some intriguing transitions as well (with a great piano intro again) and even if it remains mostly a mid-tempo piece, it is great outro.

There is a lot to appreciate on this album. You can definitely tell that the band has worked on their craft for a long time. Every note, every part has a purpose and is structured carefully to convey emotion and have memorable choruses.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Better Days
2. No More Hope
3. Help Me
4. Save Your Dreams
5. Forever with Us
6. Lost World
7. Carved in You
8. Change Your Life
9. The Cell
10. The One
Patrick Umber - Bass
Christophe Brunner - Drums
Acker Matthieu - Guitars
Fabio Torrisi - Vocals
Record Label: Via Nocturna


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 02 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green