Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Black Veil Brides - Wretched And Divine: The Story Of The Wild Ones

Black Veil Brides
Wretched And Divine: The Story Of The Wild Ones
by YngwieViking at 07 February 2013, 10:49 AM

I'm a little puzzled and extremely confused about this record,  as I had truly appreciated their superb single "In The End" promoted by a great video clip (featuring the BVB Army) and I also used to be supportive for their past works, with always in the back of my sick & twisted mind the confidence, that one day, BLACK VEIL BRIDES  will able to reveal his true powerful nature to the incredulous narrow minded world. I'm also very proud to play the Devil's advocate, as I like to love bands that everybody else loves to hate.

Because of their image and the way as they look, it seems that all the morons from the World Wide Web, are stacked against them, as if it was the last FB's shitty hype, a big league of idiots that's for sure. And instead of enjoying the Force of their music that comes with the full cool entertaining package of Leather, make up, hair-spray aka the over the top Rock N' Roll circus, while the Tweeter's united jerks, continue to butchering them over and over again. I like to walk against the wind, mostly when the majority public opinion and resentment is fed by the internet buzz. When ignorance is boosted by those stupid campaigns for some (obvious) wrong reasons and even more when the general and recurring complaints are not valid. BLACK VEIL BRIDES falls into that category of unfairly slashed acts. But you know what? Publicity good or bad, it's still publicity.

However, I'm a little disappointed or mixed in my emotions, by this disc once announced as a splendid conceptual album about a post-apocalyptic dystopian tyrannical future. In fact, the album Rocks pretty well, but far, far below my early expectations, which were pretty high…in fact maybe, I longed for such a masterpiece. Though there is plenty of enjoyment that comes with the beautiful cover-art work and SHM-CD silver disc and even the DVD, the production is very good and the mix is done with expertise abilities. The lead guitar parts are well constructed with hyper fast chops and melodic themes…The vocals are mostly clear now alternating between harsh voices / controlled Screams / Soft lament, way more mature and quite improved. The drumming is as always super tight. I also enjoyed, the diversified dynamics on the clever track listing with a good variation in the pace, from straight fierce Rocking cuts like “I Am Bulletproof" or “Shadows Die”, including some big sing-along choruses ("We Don't Belong") to a more commercial mood like “Lost It All” (with a short cameo vocal duet by Andy Biersack's fiancée ,miss Juliet Simms from AUTOMATIC LOVETTER) or "Days Are Numbered", and even some more mellower things like “Done For You” with always and every case the prime focus being in sight : the great quest for the absolute melodic hook. But the real let down, is that beside the inspired rousing song "In The End", there is no more hit single or no more standout tracks, thus I will add to the final mark one more point , only for this amazing tune which is the best  buying argument for the whole platter. The second disappointment is that the BRIDES are acting safely without taking any risky artistic choices, and lacked to provide the necessary cerebral up grade elements to reach the next level for optimized song writing. Third, their whole concept-story don’t grabs me at all, and the short transmissions interludes in between the tracks looks more like a gimmick to me, well I don’t know exactly but something’s missing to fully complete my hopes.

For their third release, the BLACK VEIL BRIDES guys, tried to finalize their metamorphosis from a Post-Hardcore / Traditionnal Metalcore band wearing black gothic clothes (read like ESCAPE THE FATE) out of the NWOAM to a Dark Strong Heavy & Sleazy Hair Metal band like SIXX AM with a lot of ripping Metal riffs borrowed to A7X throws in it. And, by mixing symphonic, drama and full bombastic elements for this Theatrical concept they almost succeed ("Resurrect The Sun") and it’s a good proof to their talent, but it finally seems that we have to wait for the next one to finally catch this Neo-Hard Rock vivid potential in waiting for the big smash hit. The band is now ready and if the correct planets alignment is right, the forthcoming CD, which will ultimately be their predicted, big triumphal album and a good fat slap in the face for their coward detractors. I have faith in that statement.

4 Star Rating

1. Exordium
2. I Am Bulletproof
3. New Year's Day
4. F.E.A.R. Transmission 1: Stay Close
5. Wretched and Divine
6. We Don't Belong
7. F.E.A.R. Transmission 2: Trust
8. Devil's Choir
9. Resurrect the Sun
10. Overture
11. Shadows Die
12. Abeyance
13. Days Are Numbered
14. Done for You
15. Nobody's Hero
16. Lost It All
17. F.E.A.R. Transmission 3: As War Fades
18. In the End
19. F.E.A.R. Final Transmission
Andy Biersack – Lead Vocals
Jake Pitts – Lead Guitar
Jinxx – Lead Guitar, Keyboard
Ashley Purdy – Bass , Vocals
Christian Coma "CC" - Drums
Record Label: Lava / Universal Republic


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green