Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

25 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Black Water Rising - Pissed And Driven

Black Water Rising
Pissed And Driven
by Marcos "The Jungle Guy" Garcia at 22 August 2013, 4:30 PM

Since PANTERA’s “Cowboys From Hell” release back in 1990, the Metal scene worldwide came to a new level. That was the birth of Groove Metal, bringing to highlights the heavy-weight of the mid-tempos, low tunes in guitars and brought the influences of North American Southern Music into Metal. Since then, an infinite number of bands appeared within the style, always trying to add something new into the scene, and even the ones who didn’t do such a fine job. And in the first group is BLACK WATER RISING, a furious North American quartet who comes again with their new Full Length, “Pissed and Driven”.

Using guitar riffs with a more melodic approach than we commonly see in the style, the band shows a very intense and abrasive music, but it’s very catchy, with vocals mixing more melodic tunes and aggressive ones, bass showing a good technique, and the heavy drums are the core of their sound, no doubt. You hear once or twice, and start to sing along with the CD.

With a clean production (without taking out the weight of the work), “Pissed and Driven” takes the band to a higher level inside their own music, showing that they really deserves a careful attention from us all.

Hearing the ten tracks, we can have the clear idea of a homogenous work, with all of then having their own value, but we could take as highlights “Show No Mercy” (great guitar riffs and a very catching chorus), the slowdown ’n’ heavy tempos of “Last Man Standing” (the pounding drums shows a great work) and “Dance With the Devil” (with a touch of C.O.C. in some moments, especially in the vocals melodies), the beautiful melodies from “Along For the Ride” (a little more accessible track, with a very good work from bass and guitars, as well as the vocals shows good diversity, singing in a more melodic way), and the aggressive “We are the Authority”.

Some can say it’s not the World’s Eighth Wonder, and we agree with that, but it’s not and ordinary one as well, so hear it and let yourself be involved by their music.

4 Star Rating

1. Show No Mercy
2. Last Man Standing
3. Pissed and Driven
4. Dance With the Devil
5. Along For the Ride
6. Fire It Up
7. All Gone
8. The Allure of Self Destruction
9. Broken Man
10. We are the Authority
Rob Traynor – Vocals, guitar
Dennis Kimak – Guitar
Oddie McLaughlin – Bass
Mike Meselsohn – Drums
Record Label: Metalville Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green