Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

24 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Blazemth - The Return Of Lucifer

The Return Of Lucifer
by Andrew Harvey at 06 May 2022, 2:49 AM

A black metal band known as BLAZEMTH are from Spain however their early days began in the early 90’s with a different lineup. The only member that has been there since their inception in 1994 was guitarist/vocalist FERRAN MOYA also known as VOLKHAAR. The black metal outfit in the early 90’s was also under a different name, as the band was originally named DAEMONUM when they started out with three members. But VOLKHAAR kept the band going as they released two EP’s under the current name, these two EP’s titled FOR CENTURIES LEFT BEHIND and FATHERLAND in 1995 and 1996 respectively.

Then the band went on a long hiatus before coming back in 2017 with new members including; KERBEROS on bass guitar, SHUNH on guitars, JORGE DRAGON playing the didgeridoo and finally CROMA LAN RO on the drums. This year they released a compilation album titled DRAGON BLAZE before a split album two years later in 2019. Now in the new year of 2022, they have finally decided to release their debut album THE RETURN OF LUCIFER which contains ten tracks altogether.

Starting with “Magik Invocation” a short, yet gloomy black metal soundscape of evil words and eerie surrounding elements of the occult nature. Then straight into the next track which is “The Return Of Lucifer” of fast riveting guitar riffs, sizzling drum beats and satanic vocals whispering at times. It’s a good time to fasten your seatbelt because this is just the start of what is yet to come. “Inferno” brings more punch of drums than compared to the previous track of blast beat drumming. Guitar just provides the slashes of comforting riffs of darker tonality as bass guitar supports. Guitar doesn't intervene at all, it sits very nicely in the mix, while drums become a bit more vicious but still stamping it’s authority right down. But now into “War” with building drum patterns setting the scene for guitar or vocals to lead the change of black metal chaos. Guitar varies in pitch as it becomes more consistent then the rhythm of the track changes slightly swaying more.

A short monologue sets the bar high for “Hecate” as there are mini drum solos but guitar this time again creates another transition. The sound of vocals doesn't change from being forward to letting it rip as we head into the next track “Visions Of My Dark Soul”. It certainly tainted this track with those intimidating drum patterns and raging guitar riffs as vocals let out different phases becoming vengeful as well. Crashing drums end with the usual sound of the didgeridoo, not expected but the low bellowing tone creates that transition in between each track.

“In Fight I Die” is the seventh phase of play in this album as blast beats of drums projects well as vocals are spitting words of demented darkness. Themes of battle and warriors are very much the central focal point as the tempo changes with drums constantly. “A Passage Of Unlight” is a continuation of what we heard before, racing guitar riffs and varied drum patterns. Vocals also remain aggressive and cunning as we enter the penultimate track which is “The Grummer”. The ninth track follows on as guitar simmers along to vile yet effective vocal outbursts.

There is some melodic tuning to guitar yet it keeps that ominous theme throughout. This is actually the final segment of the album as it ends with similarities of how it started. The closing “Outro'' which is short in length, with a didgeridoo prolonged in sound and signaling the end of this debut album once and for all. Overall I certainly enjoyed the guitar pitch changes, varied drum patterns and deep tone of vocals is certainly what makes this band stand out more.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Magik Invocation
2. The Return Of Lucifer
3. Inferno
4. War
5. Hecate
6. Visions Of My Dark Soul
7. In Fight I Die
8. A Passage Of Unlight
9. The Grummer
10. Outro
Ferran “Volkhaar” Moya - Vocals, Guitars
Shunh - Guitars
Jamie “Kerberos” Verdejo - Bass Guitar
Jorge Dragón - Didgeridoo
Croma Lan Ro - Drums
Record Label: Xtreem Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 27 January 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green