Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Bleeding Gods - Dodekathlon

Bleeding Gods
by Riccardo Gaffuri at 12 January 2018, 1:05 PM

After signing with Nuclear Blast, BLEEDING GODS are now out with their second LP “Dodekathlon”: condensed in about an hour we find an epic black metal take on the mythological twelve labors of Heracles; twelve tracks that steer the band away from their previous “Shepherd of Souls”, with new influences to put in the mix, for example with the collaboration with Martin Powell (ex MY DYING BRIDE, ANATHEMA keyboards).

We start with "Bloodguilt" with melodies opposed to harsh vocals and riffs, giving an hint of the new path taken by BLEEDING GODS. This is far more evident in the next “Beloved by Artemis”, where experimentation is clearly under the sun. Clear is the sight on this new path, pave by the guitar duo and Martin Powell keyboards. Tracks look polished in every detail with a particular eye on juxtaposition and contrast, as happens in “Birds of Hate”, with lead singer low voice to contrast higher female vocals.

We see some progressive hints in the closing track “Hound of hell”, with this death metal outfit to explore territories far from home: this isn’t the only episode though, right in the middle of this concept “Tyrannical Blood” stands out as an acoustic and romantic track, showing us all the will for innovation BLEEDING GODS have put into this release. As Heracles did with his labours, putting himself into an undiscovered path for glory, Dodekathlon is a brave step for BLEEDING GODS out of their niche, backed by a refined production and attention in songwriting.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Bloodguilt (Nemean Lion)
2. Multiple Decapitation (Lernaean Hydra)
3. Beloved by Artemis (Ceryneian Hind)
4. From Feast To Beast (Erymanthian Boar)
5. Inhuman Humiliation (Augean Stables)
6. Birds Of Hate (Stymphalian Birds)
7. Saviour Of Crete (Cretan Bull)
8. Tyrannical Blood (Mares Of Diomedes)
9. Seeds Of Distrust (Belt Of Hippolyta)
10. Tripled Anger (Cattle Of Geryon)
11. Hera's Orchard (Apples Of The Hesperides)
12. Hound Of Hell (Cerberus)
Ramon Ploeg - Guitars
Gea Mulder - Bass
Mark Huisman - Vocals
Rutger van Noordenburg - Guitars
Daan Klemann - Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green