Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Bloodtruth - Martyrium

by Chris Hawkins at 22 October 2018, 5:13 PM

From the annals of Heavy Metal comes yet another band inventing words.  BLODDTRUTH, an Italian Brutal Death Metal band, titled their latest, “Martyrium”.  The band formed in 2009 and this is their second full-length.  While some may write this off as another BDM clone, there is actually a wider use of song structures, instrumentation, and most importantly, riffs.  Brutal bands in particular benefit most from shorter songs less liable to wear out the ears and thankfully BLOODTRUTH realize this and have thus written a butchering album that hits like Mike Tyson:  fast and heavy.

The instrumental track, “1184 P.C.,” does well introduction an epic idea from which the band builds, a true intro.  “Centuries of Intolerance,” the second track, immediately descends upon the ears.  The senses are fully assaulted upon by the fullest intensity of the band.  The keyboard part in the middle mirrors a technique NILE (especially on “In Their Darkened Shrines”) made famous, using often-brief strips of melody to tie two distinctly different parts together.  This is full-on BDM grinding away in the spirit of classic KRISIUN and even more influences as the record progresses.  For example, the third track, “Schismatical Crusades,” brings to mind a blend of classic SUFFOCATION and IMMOLATION.  A NYDM feeling resides throughout.  Giacomo Torti, the drummer, makes his presence known with consecutive parts over 200 BPM and plenty of variation to sound original.

The hairs on the back of my neck began to stand at attention during the fifth track, “Peste Noire”.  They reintroduce keyboards during key riffs of the song showing other bands that they can still have brutality with atmosphere.  The riffs are certainly no less technical during these parts.  From the sixth track, “Prelude to Havoc,” the required mood is invoked instrumentally leading to the seventh track, “The Tome of Suffering”.  There are many great riffs in this track as well and it is thus far the best.  The album ends with a resoundingly epic title track that properly ties it all together.  With deftly-delivered riffing colliding with percussion on the edge, the BLOODTRUTH sound is created.  As the track fades out, the remnants of a final breakdown garnished with ominous keyboards diminish as an exquisitely played classical nylon string guitar passage takes over to end the song and album.

BLOODTRUTH selected the perfect time to play in a professional DM band as the genre’s popularity is seen by the amount of more than competent bands out there.  Being on Unique Leader, though, is to the band’s advantage, for the label has focused its attention on enlisting primarily DM bands and in so doing has garnered a blend of established and cutting-edge acts, all a step ahead with their music.  This is evidenced by BLOODTRUTH sharing a spot in the lineup alongside DEEDS OF FLESH, PYREXIA, and INTERNAL BLEEDING.

This album contains a finely-tuned band of musicians with a common goal.  By playing BDM rooted in tradition, the basis is easier to approach from which they then can spread out their technical ideas.  As the album progresses, one is sucked in, fully invested in a form of Dm that is truly original to BLOODTRUTH.  Of course, there are points of reference, but artists have to approach their music with their take on things.  BLOODTRUTH are doing an excellent job at carving their own place on the stone of classic bands.  There is truly some great DM these days, but this is an album from a band that approach their songs with parts they would clearly want to listen to.  Some albums are great on paper but are never revisited.  That will not be the case here.

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. 11847 P.C.
2. Centuries of Intolerance (Danse Macabre)
3. Schismatical Crusades
4. Inner Ressurection
5. Peste Noire
6. Prelude to Havoc
7. The Tome of Suffering
8. Persecution
9. The Last Prophet
10. Martyrium
Stefano Rossi Ciucci – Guitars
Riccardo Roggari– Bass
Giacomo Torti – Drums
Stefano Clementini – Guitars
Luis Maggio – Vocals
Record Label: Unique Leader


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 05 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green