Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

54 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Blue Oyster Cult - Heaven Forbid Award winner

Blue Oyster Cult
Heaven Forbid
by Jojo "Rocket Queen" Hamilton at 10 March 2020, 11:52 AM

BLUE OYSTER CULT are back with a new album. This one is called “Heaven Forbid.” It’s the bands 13th studio album and was re released on 6th March 2020. The band have been on the scene now for many years beginning way back in 1967 in New York. All these years later, BLUE OYSTER CULT are still writing & producing fine ass albums! That’s what you call a career in Metal! The band have created this new album with a smashing 11 songs to it & still sounding shit hot after such a long time, but then after all the experience we would expect nothing less! BLUE OYSTER CULT have been known as “the thinking man’s band” over the years due to their influence on the Hard Rock/Heavy Metal scene. “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” is probably the bands most famous & popular song, widely known by fans of the band and those who are not fans no doubt know of the song as it’s a bit of an anthem for the band.

Now to summarize the new album with some highlights from “Heaven Forbid.” The album opens with a song called “See You In Black” which is a great song to open the album and it shows the band are still as fresh & new as they are old & seasoned. Song number 3 is called “Power Underneath Despair.” It’s a catchy song with crisp clean vocals and finely played instruments showing the bands quality. I can feel my head banging as I type as it’s a fine song! Moving onto track number 6 which is called “Damaged,” this is a song that opens with the sound of an aeroplane and gives way to guitars and vocals joining to give us a very close encounter with the unity of the bands playing style. The line “I’m damaged and I like it” does it for me, I instantly like this song and will pin it as the highlight of the album for me! Next song is number 9 “Live For Me.” It’s a song with a gentle opening on guitars and drums giving way to the smooth vocal accompaniment. A slow tempo to the song makes it a smooth listener of a song. It has quite the gentle vibe to it and is very easy on the ears. To close the album we have the song “In Thee” Hard Rock song that brings us questions of Maybe. Another song with a soft rhythm to it which brings the album to a gentle close leaving us well satisfied with the overall sound of the album. “Love it makes strangers of us all” It’s a lovely song to end the album.

Overall a great new album, showing BLUE OYSTER CULT have yet again written and produced an excellent album. It’s an album that shows the band are still versatile and diverse. After 43 years as a band, they are still bringing us great music. For those of us who are fans of BLUE OYSTER CULT, the new album comes with great welcome & brings fantastic new songs to the forefront of their career. I certainly hope the band will continue on for years to come bringing us as always great new music. I have absolutely no complaints what so ever about the new album & can honestly say it’s been a pleasure to review the new material. My suggestion is if you are a fan or not, get stuck in – you won’t be disappointed!

Songwriting 9
Musicianship 9
Memorability 9
Production 10

4 Star Rating

1. See You In Black
2. Harvest Moon
3. Power Underneath Despair
4. X-Ray Eyes
5. Hammer Back
6. Damaged
7. Cold Grey Light Of Dawn
8. Real World
9. Live For Me
10. Still Burning
11. In Thee
Buck Dharma – Lead Guitar/Vocals
Eric Bloom – Lead Vocals/Stun Guitar
Danny Miranda – Backing Vocals/Bass
Ritchie Castellano – Rhythm Guitar/Keyboards
Jules Radino – Drums/Percussion
Record Label: Frontiers Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 09 June 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green