Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Bombay Black - Walk Of Shame Award winner

Bombay Black
Walk Of Shame
by Matt Coe at 07 August 2014, 11:00 PM

Sometimes you get the chance to hear a band for the first time that just captures your attention from the first chord or groove – and never let’s go until the last note drops. Arkansas’ BOMBAY BLACK is one of those groups that on their latest studio album “Walk of Shame” accomplish this. Forming in 2003 on a mission to make memorable melodies and kick ass music according to their bio, I would say in 2014 they are achieving their ideals.

The quartet has a long discography reaching back to 2005 with their Kivel Records debut album “Mercy”, so it’s easy to hear that they have their skills and style set in stone. Living for the days of Melodic Hard Rock and a sense of bluesy, tenacious rawness that balances influences from early L.A. GUNS and SKID ROW to classic KISS, OZZY OSBOURNE, and MÖTLEY CRÜE, the band possess all the energy, tempo fluctuation, and positive good time attitude to make some engaging songs.

The main vocals of Erik Johnson have a confident, master of ceremonies aspect to them – occasionally sarcastic, always enthusiastic, and perfect to get the choruses of “Come over Here”, the mid-tempo anthem “Superstardumb” and shuffle swing stepper “Pretty People” stuck in the cranium. The rhythm section of Ty Sims and Barry Whaley has that comfortable slam/ swagger going on, a la the best years of GUNS ‘N’ ROSES on “Sex & Gasoline” or faster, semi-power punk oriented closer “Sunshine”. Even when BOMBAY BLACK sample a portion of pop star KE$HA’s big hit “Tik Tok” during the end of “America’s Sweetheart”, they manage to encompass a killer drum groove and meaty riffs from Justin Velte that excite, delight, and promote hip shaking, hand clapping good times.

Nipping a touch of “Same Old Situation”/ MÖTLEY CRÜE for the first ripping riff on “Bye Bye Juliet” didn’t bother me in the least, as the band instantly win the crowd over through a killer KISS style multi-part vocal during the chorus. Proper production and a diverse set of tunes, “Walk of Shame” gives a lot of the new Scandinavian brigade such as CRASHDIET, RECKLESS LOVE, and even the more AOR-ish H.E.A.T. a run for their money from America. Mandatory for all hard rock fans, all generations.

5 Star Rating

1. Bye Bye Juliet
2.Sex & Gasoline
3. America’s Sweetheart
4. Come Over Here
5. Dressed to the Nines
6. Living on Mars
7. Haunting L.A.
8. Superstardumb
9. Everything You Wanted
10. Pretty People
11. I May As Well
12. Sucker
13. Sunshine
Erik Johnson – Vocals
Justin Velte – Guitar
Ty Sims – Bass
Barry Whaley – Drums
Record Label: Triage Music Firm


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green