Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 81 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Brink of Extinction - Rebirth

Brink of Extinction
by Katharine Hassett at 07 September 2018, 4:47 PM

BRINK OF EXTINCTION (also styled as BOE) is an obscure nu metal sounding band that has zero trace of their career online. This six track (seemingly) full length album begins with strange, sinister sounding ambiance, with whispered spoken word that reminds one of something out of a Goosebumps episode. "Jekyll & Psyclops" opens with some brutal grooves that makes one think maybe something really heavy is coming, but what follows is something that could be compared to DISTURBED or even SLIPKNOT. A mix of clean vocals and hardcore screams, layered grooves and random samples throughout. "Media Invasion" features some pretty impressive, technical guitar work that makes up for the overall dull tone of the album. One might even go as far as to say this track in particular was influenced by DREAM THEATER or at times MESHUGGAH, and this writer does night say that lightly.

"Dark Passenger" is much of the same formula, with more 4/4 beats than anything. "The Laughter's Shadow" is a quick break from the heaviness, guitars with a clean tone and more dark ambiance. "Mirrors" plows back into simple grooves and more nu metal flair. A lot of the same for half of the eight minutes, and then a dark, down tempo passage ensues, with quite an emotional, dreamlike undertone. Overall, BOE are very talented at times, especially on guitars. Unfortunately, the album seems very uninspired and brings nothing new to what seems like they are going for, which is progressive metal. The production quality is top notch, so it's a wonder why they couldn't afford a promotional team.

Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Memorability: 5
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Rebirth
2. Jekyll & Psyclops
3. Media Invasion
4. Dark Passenger
5. The Laughter's Shadow
6. Mirrors
Liam Denning - Vocals
Colt Shapland - Vocals
Billy Turner - Guitar
Chuck Knight - Guitar
Ben Harding - Bass
Chris Stefanczyk - Drums
Record Label: Unknown


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 31 May 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green