Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

GHernandez, 52 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Brume - Rabbits

by Stephen Bowers at 21 January 2020, 8:51 PM

When BRUME guitarist Jamie McCathie left the UK for America, his intention was to start a band that made ‘heavy Doom music’ and with debut album "Donkey," they invariably succeeded. Described accurately by one blunt reviewer as "fucking impressive," it was a wonderfully dreamy and psychedelic affair, with ethereal vocals atop a backdrop of driving riffs. Criticized only for their lack of range, they were viewed nonetheless as a solid and reliable Doom band who put quality first.

"Rabbits," their second full-length, is both vast and ambitious in scope, the five tracks on offer here spanning over 40 minutes and demonstrating far greater confidence in the studio. "Despondence" provides a smooth and soothing opening as Susie McMullan lays down lulling vocals over a weepy guitar before those heavy, sludgy riffs kick in. There is perhaps a touch of the MELVINS in the guitar sound whilst McMullan’s voice brings to mind PORTISHEAD, although second track "Scurry," picks up the pace and amps up the heaviness and at that stage the vocal delivery borders on operatic.

Not afraid to experiment, the album is anything but predictable as "Blue Jay" brings in piano and strings to brilliant effect, and the suitably titled "Lament" takes things down a notch, a hazy and slow-burning epic of pounding drums and crunching bass.  But, BRUME save the best until last, with ten-minute finisher "Autocrat’s Fool" ending the album on a bluesy and murky tone. It’s a fantastic end to a not-quite-classic album, like a Post-Metal theme tune to the credits of a post-apocalyptic movie. An essential album for Doom fans, especially those who like things on the more Goth side.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1.  Despondence
2.  Scurry
3.  Blue Jay
4.  Lament
5.  Autocrat’s Fool
Jamie McCathie:  Guitar
Jordan Perkins-Lewis:  Drums
Susie McMullan:  Bass and Vocals
Record Label: Magnetic Eye Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green