Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Bulletmen – There’s Always Light At The End Of The Tunnel

There’s Always Light At The End Of The Tunnel
by Dave Nowels at 08 January 2019, 7:33 AM

BULLETMEN are a Hard Rock/Southern Rock band based in Madrid, Spain. This should serve as a significant clue as to what to expect going forward with their release “There’s Always A Light At The End Of The Tunnel”. The band formed in 2011 or 2014 depending on which press materials you give credence too.  The band is a Spanish language band releasing an English album emulating such varied influences as, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, ZZ TOP, MR. BIG and FAITH NO MORE. This should serve as yet another clue.

The album opens with a bluesy feel with the intro of “Tunnel of Love”. The song then transitions into a pretty straight forward rocker with vocalist Tomas Borgogna showing of his pipes early and often. Borgogna has impressive range, though I’m not sure it fits with what the band is trying achieve. Rather, I could see/hear Borgogna fronting a NWOBHM style band in a much better fit. Yet another issue I have to try to overcome here is the language barrier. I’ve indicated before in similar situations that I’d much rather a band release an album in their native language rather than struggle through trying to convince me in English.  This cheesiness continues throughout the album and is most apparent in songs like “Mr. Tragic Time” and “Nothing Better”.

It’s not just the vocals/lyrics that fall flat for me. The band seems undecided on what they’re ultimately trying to be stylistically. There’s a definite feel of a ‘cover’ band that through together a mix-match of originals. There’s just no consistency to hold this collection together. One moment the band is Southern Hard Rock, next 80’s Metal, and even some ill advised Country with a Jazz like scat vocal in “My Heart Got Cold”. I just never connected on any level with the band or the album. That’s rare for me. I can usually find at least a couple tracks that stand out, but it’s just not the case this time. The band has obvious talent, but between the language barrier, and lack of congealing on a style, I just can’t recommend a single track. Unfortunately, to make matters even more bleak, the production and mix is disjointed as well with instruments and vocals buried under one another off and on. Tragically, there is no light at the end of this tunnel. If there is, it's only a gorilla with a flashlight.

Songwriting: 3
Originality: 3
Memorability: 3
Production: 3

1 Star Rating

1. Tunnel Of Love
2. Nothing Better
3. Mr. Tragic Time
4. Drowning In The World
5. Hard Working Man
6. My Heart Got Cold
7. Take A Breath
8. Afraid Of the Night
9. A Secret That May Kill
10. Judgment Day
Tomas Borgogna – Vocals
Gustavo Polo – Guitars
Carlos Rodero – Bass
David Fernandez – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 07 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green