Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

46 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Buried – Oculus Rot Award winner

Oculus Rot
by Ricardo “Lebzul” Brenes at 02 March 2021, 6:36 PM

You may be familiar with the name PYAEMIA if you’ve been into Brutal Death Metal long enough. BURIED is mostly formed from the burning ashes and remains of PYAEMIA. Yes, more Brutal Death Metal without further pretentions, pure, direct, and sick with a tight production. These guys have been involved in the creation of BDM masterpieces during their musical careers and the bands they have been involved with so expect no less.

From start to finish there is no messing around in this record. The double-bass and sick riffing intertwine with sick vocals and machine-gun blast beats that make your blood boil. There are nine songs in this album for a total 33 minutes of sonic blasting. Some of my favorite tunes are “Anti Body”, “Leech” and “Splintered”, being this last one the track that caught my attention the most and the technicality of the guitar work dips its pinky in the progressive DM waters, without the fancy coloring of those who just want to impress. This is not made to impress, but to crush, and oh it does.

Those loyal to the old school sound will not be disappointed, songs like “Paradise” and “Tornado of Blood” provide a sick dose of exactly that, brutal tunes and insane riffing; moreover, the classic “Tenebrous Worm” from their first EP “Tenebrous”, back in 2014 is the closing track. Those who venture into more modern sounds will also find enough technicality in this brutal record as to still feel well within their comfort zone.

This is a very good debut album for these old-school Death mongers. Fans of PYAEMIA, DISAVOWED, DECAPITATED, DISGORGE, and more will not be disappointed.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 9
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Retribution
2. Anti Body
3. Tornado of Blood
4. Buried
5. Oculus Rot
6. Leech
7. Splintered
8. Paradise
9. Tenebrous Worm
Mark Wormmeester - Bass
Stefan de Graaff - Guitars
Joel Sta - Vocals
Robbert Vrijenhoek - Drums
Record Label: Brutal Mind


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 01 April 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green