Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

56 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Burning Point - Empyre (CD)

Burning Point
by George Karagiannis at 22 January 2009, 4:18 PM

The Finnish Metal scene is one of the biggest and most successful ones, lots and lots of bands can be mentioned…one of them is BURNING POINT, a Power/Heavy act that strikes back with their 4th creation Empyre.
While their previous work Burned Down The Enemy wasn't something really special, this one shows the band at their best form so far. Their sound is definitely more American than European…actually reminds me a lot the 80's American Metal scene. Living with the record for a week I should say that it has the ability to grow within you. Very up-tempo and powerful, almost brings a smile to your face!
So here you can find Power/Speed Metal at Empyre or Face The Truth, staccato Heavy/Power at Manic Merry-Go-Round or Only The Wrong Will Survive but also more epic-approached tracks like Fool's Parade or Sacrifice. I even liked the St. Valentine's ballad Was It Me!
Also I have to mention the good work Pasi Hitula has done with the keyboards and Pete Ahonen with his vocals. The keys add a special background to their music and the vocals change successfully from track to track, being harsh but also melodic where this is needed. The great cover art is from the hands of Felipe Machado Franco, whose previous works includes artists such as ICED EARTH, Axell Rudi Pell and Blaze Bayley.
Search for the limited edition of Empyre as it includes cover versions of KIRKA (I'll Be Yours), THE RODS (Nuclear Skies), Q5 (Let Go) and RUNNING WILD (Gods Of Iron). All of the above with guest appearances by the original members of the bands! Give it a try!

3 Star Rating

Intro/The Godfather Theme
Manic Merry-Go-Round
Face The Truth
Fool's Parade
Was It Me
Walls Of Stone
Cruel World
Blinded By The Darkness
Only The Wrong Will Survive
Pete Ahonen - Vocals & Guitars
Pekka Kolivuori - Guitars
Jukka Jokikokko - Bass
Pasi Hiltula - Keyboards
Jussi Ontero - Drums
Record Label: Metal Heaven


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green