Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

48 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Burnt Belief - Etymology

Burnt Belief
by Katarzyna Zakolska at 21 November 2014, 12:37 PM

BURNT BELIEF is a Progressive Ambient Fusion Jazz Rock project consists of Colin Edwin – bassist of PORCUPINE TREE and guitarist Jon Durant. The band released their first album “Shadow Planets” in 2012 and second album “Etymology” on October 21st 2014 via Alchemy Records. On this album are well-known drummers like Vinny Sabatino, Dean McCormick and Jose Duque and on violins play Steve Bingham.

Opening „Chromatique” has Progressive rhythm with excellent bass work and eternally balsamic guitar. With its chill climate, the wonderful instrumental track is made by heavenly guitars. Climatic bass guitar together with excellent guitar riffs sounds like mix of TOTO and SATRIANI in “Dissemble”. Guitar sounds in Hard Rock style with gentle violins, oriental style and electronic / pop echoes create this track as a really interesting.

Impressive is “Squall” with stunning electronic violin and interesting melody, and also “Chimera” where nice bass and elements of Jazz mix making melodic atmosphere with unforgotten climate.

Such tracks like calmer and chillin “White Keys”, “Hraunfossar” use gentle sounds and bass with echoes of AERYON or PINK FLOYD, melodic chilly influenced ”Convergence”, and  bonus track “Charlatan” with gentle eternity guitars and gorgeous ballad style in “Hover” just show the high class of the musicians.

I'm sure this album of BURNT BELIEF should to be in hands of every Progressive Rock lover. The music of this band is a great journey and the variety gives every track real spirit. Highly recommend to everyone who want to listen instrumental Progressive Ambient Fusion Jazz Rock!

4 Star Rating

1. Chromatique
2. Dissemble
3. Précis
4. Hraunfossar
5. Convergence
6. Rivulet
7. White Keys
8. Not Indifferent
9. Hover
10. Chimera
11. Squall
12. Charlatan (Bonus Track)
Colin Edwin – Bassist
Jon Durant - Guitars
Steve Bingham (No-Man) - Electric Violin
Vinny Sabatino - Drums
Dean McCormick - Drums
Jose Duque - Drums
Record Label: Alchemy


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green